Google Maps, My Maps, YouTube, Androidify, Slides, Music Updated–Here’s What’s New

In the last few weeks, Google has been … more

SuperSU BETA: Root Android Lollipop on Stock Kernel

Up until now, if you wanted to get root on Android 5.0, you needed to flash a modified … more

Android App Review: Get Amaze with Material Design – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. Android 5.0 … more

Small But Eternal: HTC Explorer Receives Unofficial CM12

When HTC officially announced the HTC Explorer, they most likely weren’t … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Tether

OP kevinallen4325

28th March 2014, 07:54 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
235 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Does anyone know if there's something I can delete in titanium backup to get unlimited tethering? I know on my old Samsung's there was something and I don't want to just go around deleting random things

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using xda app-developers app
28th March 2014, 08:55 PM   |  #2  
Tower1972's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere in Wisconsin
Thanks Meter: 212
 
995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinallen4325

Does anyone know if there's something I can delete in titanium backup to get unlimited tethering? I know on my old Samsung's there was something and I don't want to just go around deleting random things

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using xda app-developers app

Does your plan include tethering ? If so you don't need to delete anything..which I think most higher plans do now
28th March 2014, 10:43 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
235 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinallen4325

Does anyone know if there's something I can delete in titanium backup to get unlimited tethering? I know on my old Samsung's there was something and I don't want to just go around deleting random things

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using xda app-developers app

I was grandfathered in to the unlimited plan. I do not have tethering. I relied on custom rims basically to get rid of the tether block

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using xda app-developers app
29th March 2014, 04:24 AM   |  #4  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 685
 
1,372 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Donate to Me
Devs doing roms here should know how to enable tethering, I have it enabled on mine but unless on custom rom and rooted doesnt help much...Knoxraid just released a rom, see if its unlocked on his...but to answer your question no its not something you can just delete and itll work....sorry...


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinallen4325

I was grandfathered in to the unlimited plan. I do not have tethering. I relied on custom rims basically to get rid of the tether block

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using xda app-developers app

31st March 2014, 03:30 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
On the Droid razr (vzw) I used a sql editor to open settings.db and there was an option called entitlement check, and I had to change that to 0 instead of 1.

No clue if anything like this would work on the m8,as I don't have mine yet.

Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk
31st March 2014, 02:19 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
im interested in this too. i have the same grandfathered plan
1st April 2014, 01:49 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbag1489

On the Droid razr (vzw) I used a sql editor to open settings.db and there was an option called entitlement check, and I had to change that to 0 instead of 1.

No clue if anything like this would work on the m8,as I don't have mine yet.

Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk

Someone said adding tethering_dun_required=0 to settings.db would do it, but I tried it and it didn't work. I rebooted the phone and verified the new setting is in there as below, but trying to start the hotspot resulted in the same "call 611" bull**** as before:


% adb shell sqlite3 /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db 'select * from global where name = \"tether_dun_required\"'
106|tether_dun_required|0
%

I'm using KnoxRaid ROM which is based on the AT&T firmware. I haven't tried, but I'm willing to bet the international version roms don't have this problem.

edit: Just tried flashing ARHD, which is based on the international stock ROM, on my AT&T device and mobile hotspot works out of the box.
Last edited by Nathan2; 1st April 2014 at 04:18 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes