Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,007 Members 40,310 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Possible bug with Home button setting

Tip us?
 
ahecht
Old
#11  
ahecht's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 211
Posts: 378
Join Date: Oct 2010
It sounds like these are settings left over from the M7, which didn't have on-screen buttons and long press home was needed for menu and double tapping the home button was needed for recent apps. Sounds like they forgot to remove the setting when they switched to on screen buttons.
 
Captain_Throwback
Old
#12  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8688
Posts: 10,087
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bensalem, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahecht View Post
It sounds like these are settings left over from the M7, which didn't have on-screen buttons and long press home was needed for menu and double tapping the home button was needed for recent apps. Sounds like they forgot to remove the setting when they switched to on screen buttons.
So if this is in fact the case, where is my Menu button? I can't get to the settings in ES File Explorer without a Menu button.
Device 1: HTC One (M8)/831C | Hardware Version: 0005

Baseband: 1.08.20.0612_4 | PRI: 2.62_003 | PRL: 56019
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0

Device 2: HTC Jewel/PJ75100 (EVO 4G LTE) | Hardware Version: 0003

Baseband: 1.13.11.1105 | PRI: 3.02_003 | PRL: 56018
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0b

Device 3: HTC Shooter/PG86100 (EVO 3D) | Hardware Version: 0002
Baseband: 1.09.00.0108 | PRI: 1.55_003 | PRL: 22100
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.0

Device 4: HTC Supersonic/PC36100 (EVO 4G) | Hardware Version: 0004
Baseband: 2.15.00.01.15 | PRI: 2.33_003 | PRL: 40460
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0
 
ahecht
Old
(Last edited by ahecht; 1st April 2014 at 03:37 AM.)
#13  
ahecht's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 211
Posts: 378
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Throwback View Post
So if this is in fact the case, where is my Menu button? I can't get to the settings in ES File Explorer without a Menu button.
The menu button shows up for me correctly in legacy apps. This is the correct behavior per http://android-developers.blogspot.c...utton.html?m=1

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1396319594238.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	81.4 KB
ID:	2661791

If ES File Explorer is setting the SDK version to 11 or higher and not providing an action overflow or other on screen way to access the menu then that is a bug with that program.

EDIT: In ES File Explorer, click on the button in the upper right to slide out the "Fast Access" panel. There is a settings button at the bottom of the panel.
The Following User Says Thank You to ahecht For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
schmeggy929
Old
#14  
schmeggy929's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 877
Posts: 1,333
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahecht View Post
The menu button shows up for me correctly in legacy apps. This is the correct behavior per http://android-developers.blogspot.c...utton.html?m=1

Attachment 2661791

If ES File Explorer is setting the SDK version to 11 or higher and not providing an action overflow or other on screen way to access the menu then that is a bug with that program.

EDIT: In ES File Explorer, click on the button in the upper right to slide out the "Fast Access" panel. There is a settings button at the bottom of the panel.
Top left works too

Theme and skins for Sprint Evo 4G LTE: Kang Kong Red for Evo 4G LTE

Theme for Asus TF700T: Kang Kong Red for Asus TF700T
 
ahecht
Old
#15  
ahecht's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 211
Posts: 378
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by schmeggy929 View Post
Top left works too
You're correct, of course. When I was writing that I had already pressed the button, causing it to move to the upper right when the panel slid out.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes