Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more
Post Reply

[Q] I'm stuck in CWM recovery mode

1st April 2014, 08:27 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Hello,
Yesterday an update came up on my screen, I clicked "Install Now"
The phone restarted into CWM.
I am rooted ofcourse, and I'm really scared for my phone,
Is there anything to be done?
1st April 2014, 08:34 AM   |  #2  
NiZii.'s Avatar
Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 2
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Which phone do you have?
Your phone is rooted, do you have a stock or custom ROM?

You should provide a little more information so people can help you.

Sent from my HTC One X+ using xda app-developers app
1st April 2014, 08:37 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
LG G2 D802 T-mobile version
umm...I had stock firmware,
Just now i installed CyanogenMod, and still im going back to recovery...
1st April 2014, 08:43 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
btw, if i have recovery up and working, i shouldn't be madly worried...shoud i?,,
1st April 2014, 09:00 AM   |  #5  
NiZii.'s Avatar
Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 2
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMetalliX

LG G2 D802 T-mobile version
umm...I had stock firmware,
Just now i installed CyanogenMod, and still im going back to recovery...

You should try to reverse back to stock.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2432476

I've found that on the forums for LG G2's.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn HTC One X+ met Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 08:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:54 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by iMetalliX

btw, if i have recovery up and working, i shouldn't be madly worried...shoud i?,,

The only thing you probably have to worry about is the data on your device since it is possible you have to wipe it. No worries on bricked device.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn HTC One X+ met Tapatalk
1st April 2014, 09:03 AM   |  #6  
mackster248's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palmdale, CA
Thanks Meter: 648
 
2,926 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMetalliX

btw, if i have recovery up and working, i shouldn't be madly worried...shoud i?,,

No. But it looks like you flashed a borked file. Maybe the CM you installed has a wrong MD5, or you might have flashed a CM that's for a different G2. Either way, you can either push a new ROM zip into your phone to flash, or KDZ back to stock like the guy above me said. Good luck!

And don't worry, your phone is completely fine. But this should be a lesson to always perform a backup before ANY ROM flashing. :P
1st April 2014, 09:10 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mackster248

No. But it looks like you flashed a borked file. Maybe the CM you installed has a wrong MD5, or you might have flashed a CM that's for a different G2. Either way, you can either push a new ROM zip into your phone to flash, or KDZ back to stock like the guy above me said. Good luck!

And don't worry, your phone is completely fine. But this should be a lesson to always perform a backup before ANY ROM flashing. :P

Thank you mate )
umm..i'm going back to stock, and the MD5 was ok, and yes, im a noob
1st April 2014, 01:45 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Lg g2 d80220a
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMetalliX

btw, if i have recovery up and working, i shouldn't be madly worried...shoud i?,,

What I'd like to know is how did you get CWM in the first place? I've tried for a couple of hours with ROM Manager and the D802 is not supported even though it claims it is. All I get is the red triangle on top of the green android bot and what looks like 2.x CWM. Not sure since I'm new. But it only has about 5 options. No MOUNT, NO ADVANCED, Looks unsuitable for flashing a ROM. I saw this version the very first time I flashed a phone and I soft bricked the phone. It was a Nexus 4. I recovered but I'm not taking any chances and messing with that again. The only way I recovered was using Wugfresh. I need something like Wugfresh for my D802 where I can take those risk. I'm angry because I can't flash anything now. I've got 327 apps to get installed. No one wants to do that manually. It is really inconceivable that this phone which is still arguably the best in the world after 6 months is not supported the way it should be with recovery. Any help in getting CWM working would be greatly appreciated.
1st April 2014, 03:19 PM   |  #9  
XxZombiePikachu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,460
 
2,536 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by notanymore

What I'd like to know is how did you get CWM in the first place? I've tried for a couple of hours with ROM Manager and the D802 is not supported even though it claims it is. All I get is the red triangle on top of the green android bot and what looks like 2.x CWM. Not sure since I'm new. But it only has about 5 options. No MOUNT, NO ADVANCED, Looks unsuitable for flashing a ROM. I saw this version the very first time I flashed a phone and I soft bricked the phone. It was a Nexus 4. I recovered but I'm not taking any chances and messing with that again. The only way I recovered was using Wugfresh. I need something like Wugfresh for my D802 where I can take those risk. I'm angry because I can't flash anything now. I've got 327 apps to get installed. No one wants to do that manually. It is really inconceivable that this phone which is still arguably the best in the world after 6 months is not supported the way it should be with recovery. Any help in getting CWM working would be greatly appreciated.

Have you tried philz http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2554053

Sent from my LG-D800 running stock kk, rooted with philz using XDA app
2nd April 2014, 03:03 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Lg g2 d80220a
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxZombiePikachu

Have you tried philz http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2554053

Sent from my LG-D800 running stock kk, rooted with philz using XDA app

That won't work because you can't even get to the menus to install the zip. That the whole problem. You can't really do anything because it basically hangs up with the red triangle. With the number of people having this problem and how great a phone this is you'd figure this problem would not even exist. Here's a screen shot of the problem everybody is having.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140401_205451.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	231.1 KB
ID:	2663613  

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank