Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] MagicJack issue with 4.4 KitKat (still)

OP arbank94

1st April 2014, 01:08 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Alright, so I posted a thread a while back regarding how MagicJack crashes on my HTC One (M7). I simply open the app, it remains on a black screen for about 5 seconds then it crashes.
I am on ARHD 61.1.
I have tried all of these solutions:

-reinstall the app from Playstore
-reinstall the app from another source
-reinstall the app from both of the above with autosync off
-installed an earlier version of the app
-flashed the following roms: ARHD, Viper, Maximus (same issue on all roms)
-did a full wipe of my phone from TWRP
-reflashed ARHD again, and this is where I am at now

So I even took the extreme routes and it still didn't help. It simply just doesn't work with my phone.
Can anyone help me out with fixing this problem?

I have link of the logcat of when I try to open up MagicJack... http://pastebin.com/Gb90s8AH
2nd April 2014, 02:56 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Sorry for double posting.... this is the last time. If no one has any ideas this time then I'll give it up.
Last edited by arbank94; 2nd April 2014 at 03:00 AM.
2nd April 2014, 03:36 AM   |  #3  
Prophet16's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fremont, CA
Thanks Meter: 19
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
So I had a problem like this earlier, the issue was that everytime I installed a new rom, one of the first things I did was install Android Tuner and let that app install a lot of tweaks to speed up the system, and some of the tweaks in the build.prop caused a certain app to keep crashing because it kept running out of memory. Have you installed any tweaks after flashing any of the roms?
2nd April 2014, 04:53 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet16

So I had a problem like this earlier, the issue was that everytime I installed a new rom, one of the first things I did was install Android Tuner and let that app install a lot of tweaks to speed up the system, and some of the tweaks in the build.prop caused a certain app to keep crashing because it kept running out of memory. Have you installed any tweaks after flashing any of the roms?

Well first I was on ARHD 52. MagicJack didn't work, so I figured it was an issue with ARHD.

When ARHD 53 came out a couple of days ago, it STILL didn't work. At that point I figured something must have been wrong.
(I do install the ElementalX kernel (specifically for double tap to wake, I keep everything else at stock.)


But this time, I completely wiped my phone. I installed a fresh ARHD 61.1, and I tried out MagicJack BEFORE I installed ElementalX again. Turned out, MagicJack still didn't work.

So other than ElementalX, I do not install any tweaks.
2nd April 2014, 04:59 AM   |  #5  
Prophet16's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fremont, CA
Thanks Meter: 19
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Well that's odd,sometimes a clean install of a rom is still not enough to make a certain problem go away. I had issues with a specific base, when I install 4.19.401.8 base, I can't sign in to Google, but when I install a newer or older base, the problem is gone. Now if I were to install the same base over and over again the problem would resurface in a different base. So I decided to use the stock AT&T RUU and start over. The RUUs usually restore nearly everything. So I think you should give that a try. And if you can try to run an RUU exe, not a zip.
2nd April 2014, 05:03 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet16

Well that's odd,sometimes a clean install of a rom is still not enough to make a certain problem go away. I had issues with a specific base, when I install 4.19.401.8 base, I can't sign in to Google, but when I install a newer or older base, the problem is gone. Now if I were to install the same base over and over again the problem would resurface in a different base. So I decided to use the stock AT&T RUU and start over. The RUUs usually restore nearly everything. So I think you should give that a try. And if you can try to run an RUU exe, not a zip.

Problem with that is... I have a Latin American International HTC One with a CID which is not supported by any RUU.
So I SuperCID'd to 11111111, and none of the RUUs seem to work.
(so I'm probably not selecting the correct RUU)

But tell you what. I'm going to do another wipe. I'm going to start again from the beginning with a new TWRP, new rom, and new everything.
If at this point MagicJack is STILL not working, then I'm literally out of ideas and I'll try RUUing.
2nd April 2014, 05:54 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Okay so I formatted and wiped my entire again, and I flashed a new TWRP, and I had no OS installed (nearly bricking my device). I installed a clean ARHD 61.1, and everything was from the beginning. I didn't sync any account, I didn't add the Google account either.
All I did was download Root Explorer, and installed a MagicJack.apk I downloaded from another source. It STILL didn't work. wtf

At this point, I'm going to assume that MagicJack needs to update their app and that it's not my phones fault.
It's just weird because for other people it works on ARHD 61.1.
2nd April 2014, 08:45 PM   |  #8  
Prophet16's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fremont, CA
Thanks Meter: 19
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
The RUU might not work if your device is unlocked, you'll have to re-lock the bootloader to use an RUU.exe. But guess what, I decided to find the app and install it myself to see what's going on and I have the same issue. I'm running 4.19.401.11 base, the rom is my own and I have Elemental X kernel, so I think it's just the developers messing up here.
2nd April 2014, 08:59 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet16

The RUU might not work if your device is unlocked, you'll have to re-lock the bootloader to use an RUU.exe. But guess what, I decided to find the app and install it myself to see what's going on and I have the same issue. I'm running 4.19.401.11 base, the rom is my own and I have Elemental X kernel, so I think it's just the developers messing up here.


Ohh, so you're getting a black screen and just having the app crash too? Then yeah... the developers messed up.
Guess all that wiping went nowhere... at least I have a fresh start though. (didn't mean it to sound disgusting)
2nd April 2014, 09:17 PM   |  #10  
Prophet16's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fremont, CA
Thanks Meter: 19
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arbank94

Ohh, so you're getting a black screen and just having the app crash too? Then yeah... the developers messed up.
Guess all that wiping went nowhere... at least I have a fresh start though. (didn't mean it to sound disgusting)

Yeah I'm sure they'll get it fixed.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
htc one, magicjack
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes