Post Reply

activating phone from an upgrade not yours

OP topaz330

1st April 2014, 08:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
179 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
quick question... my scenario is that I used my wifes upgrade to get the m8 and phone just came in today. She is taking my s4. Do I need to first activate it under her account and then do the switch or can I just go online and activate it directly under my account? We have two separate accounts. Just seems tedious to have to first activate it on her account and then do the switch. THanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to topaz330 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2014, 08:27 PM   |  #2  
fronc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Red Bank
Thanks Meter: 112
 
550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by topaz330

quick question... my scenario is that I used my wifes upgrade to get the m8 and phone just came in today. She is taking my s4. Do I need to first activate it under her account and then do the switch or can I just go online and activate it directly under my account? We have two separate accounts. Just seems tedious to have to first activate it on her account and then do the switch. THanks!

You should call Verizon and see if they can activate it to yours, but you're probably going to need to go into a store to get a SIM card that is provisioned for your account. The SIM is what matters and what they sent you is probably set up for her line.

If you have a micro SIM you can just pop yours in and be fine. But I don't know if the s4 uses the same size SIM card.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to fronc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2014, 08:48 PM   |  #3  
Gator Brah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
i do this all the time with work. You can call them and authorize the device to be switched to your account without activating it on her line. You will have to be an admin on the her account or have someone on the line who is.
1st April 2014, 08:48 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by topaz330

quick question... my scenario is that I used my wifes upgrade to get the m8 and phone just came in today. She is taking my s4. Do I need to first activate it under her account and then do the switch or can I just go online and activate it directly under my account? We have two separate accounts. Just seems tedious to have to first activate it on her account and then do the switch. THanks!

I did the same thing as you, i just called in Verizon and they switched it over without activating the new M8 on my sister's line.
The Following User Says Thank You to spiceditup For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2014, 08:54 PM   |  #5  
oneandroidnut's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 379
 
2,019 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
it will work fine!
1st April 2014, 08:59 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
179 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiceditup

I did the same thing as you, i just called in Verizon and they switched it over without activating the new M8 on my sister's line.

thanks! did your sister need to be there or did they just activate this on your account? I just spole with a rep and they said since it's on two different accounts the phone needs to be active on her account for 24 hours before i switch. is that true?
Last edited by topaz330; 1st April 2014 at 09:12 PM.
1st April 2014, 09:33 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
325 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
There's no magic in the SIM. You simply need the SIM number tied to your phone number. You can switch the SIM the same as you could switch the IMEI on older phones. The website walks you through it if you choose activate or switch device.

Assuming you're trying to keep your unlimited data, I would do it in the below order.

Activate the device on her account when you get it.
Log into her account and switch her old phone back on the line.
Log into your account and put the M8 and SIM on your line.
Take her SIM from the old phone and plug it into the GS4. If her old SIM is not a micro sim, simply go through the switch process again with your S4 and SIM.

You should be able to do all of the above as quickly as you can click through the website.
Last edited by l7777; 1st April 2014 at 09:37 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to l7777 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2014, 09:47 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
179 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
got it to work... just called back CS and got someone competent on the phone. They did the switch and all is well. THanks for the help fellas!
1st April 2014, 11:12 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
I wouldn't imagine there'd be any need to call CS, just pop your SIM into the new phone (assuming it's a nano SIM (or you can cut it down)) and turn it on. The only thing that needs activating via CS is the new nano SIM that comes inside the M8, if you're using your original SIM then there shouldn't be anything to call CS about.

The above only applies if both phones and lines are using LTE phones with SIM cards, if they're still on 3G phones with no SIM, then you'll need CS to switch lines and phones around.
2nd April 2014, 11:02 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag So Cal
Thanks Meter: 100
 
928 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Your must activate it first on the upgrade plan, if you don't you will lose your plan. My wife did our wrong when she got her motox.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon One (M8) General by ThreadRank