Post Reply

[Q] why do I'm unable to upgrade to kit kat?

1st April 2014, 09:52 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Hi,
I have a 4.3 installed on my phone, I woul upgrade to 4.4, but I don' know how to do that.
If I check with pc companion, ittell me that there is no upgrade, and the same by OTA.

I'm wondering if is it possible that I'm still out of upgrade.

How can I upgrade it...?

TIA

Renato
1st April 2014, 10:04 PM   |  #2  
dragon546's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sutton
Thanks Meter: 116
 
581 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by renato1967

Hi,
I have a 4.3 installed on my phone, I woul upgrade to 4.4, but I don' know how to do that.
If I check with pc companion, ittell me that there is no upgrade, and the same by OTA.

I'm wondering if is it possible that I'm still out of upgrade.

How can I upgrade it...?

TIA

Renato

Is your Z1 a UK unbranded one? Uk unbranded seem to be always the last one to get updates. You could back up your phone then perform a repair. Doing repair may wipe your phone so consider before doing it. BTW you have posted in Q&A section. Please move to Q&A Moderators many thanks
Last edited by dragon546; 2nd April 2014 at 12:45 PM.
2nd April 2014, 05:58 AM   |  #3  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,027
 
9,430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
If you can't post in the correct section you are unlikely to know where the search button is either...
Flash av 4.4 FTF using flashtool
Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to gregbradley For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2014, 06:39 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag Novosibirsk
Thanks Meter: 7
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
If you have root or unlock bootloader on your device you cant upgrade it through SUS or PCC. Lock it back or flash it via flashtool.
2nd April 2014, 07:18 AM   |  #5  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,027
 
9,430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by romaha

If you have root or unlock bootloader on your device you cant upgrade it through SUS or PCC. Lock it back or flash it via flashtool.

This is incorrect.

If you have root you can still update via PCCompanion or SUS, but you will lose root.

If you have an unlocked bootloader then you cannot use official tools such as PCCompanions or SUS, you can only use EMMA (Official tool from Sony for unlocked bootloaders)
The Following User Says Thank You to gregbradley For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2014, 07:19 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag Novosibirsk
Thanks Meter: 7
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

This is incorrect.

If you have root you can still update via PCCompanion or SUS, but you will lose root.

If you have an unlocked bootloader then you cannot use official tools such as PCCompanions or SUS, you can only use EMMA (Official tool from Sony for unlocked bootloaders)

Interesting info about EMMA, thanks
2nd April 2014, 08:02 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by romaha

Interesting info about EMMA, thanks

ok, I thought I can do it with OTA or pccompanion. I thought it is a "regular" upgrade for Z1. Indeed I need flashtool? I need to root Z1 ?

Renato

2nd April 2014, 08:11 AM   |  #8  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,027
 
9,430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by renato1967

ok, I thought I can do it with OTA or pccompanion. I thought it is a "regular" upgrade for Z1. Indeed I need flashtool? I need to root Z1 ?

Renato

You will be able to use PCCompanion once the update becomes available for you, they are not all released at the same time, it can roll out over a month or two.

In the meantime, you can flash a FTF using flashtool from flashtool.net and there is no need for root. It is just a repackage of an official download and made avaialable for all.
Find them in the FTF mega collection thread.... Use the search button.

The Following User Says Thank You to gregbradley For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
how to, kit kat, sony xperia z1, upgrade
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Z1 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank