Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,696 Members 37,731 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q][GT-I9500][DNS] Set DNS on Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9500

Tip us?
 
KASRU
Old
(Last edited by KASRU; 2nd April 2014 at 11:55 AM.) Reason: Info
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Moscow
Question [Q][GT-I9500][DNS] Set DNS on Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9500

Hi,

I have a problem on Android phone Samsung GT-I9500.
Samsumg GT-I9500 sends DNS requests to DNS server address obtained via DHCP. But it ignores setup changes in setprorp 1 and setprorp 2.

do it:
Code:
Select Code
adb shell
# setprop net.dns1 <ip1>
# setprop net.dns2 <ip2>
How to change DNS server?
How to add DNS server?

Info:
Code:
Select Code
shell@ja3g:/ # getprop |grep dns
getprop |grep dns
[dhcp.wlan0.dns1]: [192.168.1.1]
[dhcp.wlan0.dns2]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.dns3]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.dns4]: []
[net.change]: [net.dns1]
[net.dns.search]: []
[net.dns1]: [192.168.1.1]

shell@ja3g:/ # setprop net.dns1 8.8.8.8
setprop net.dns1 8.8.8.8

shell@ja3g:/ # setprop net.dns2 4.4.4.4
setprop net.dns2 4.4.4.4

shell@ja3g:/ # setprop dhcp.wlan0.dns1 8.8.8.8
setprop dhcp.wlan0.dns1 8.8.8.8

root@ja3g:/ # getprop |grep dns
getprop |grep dns
[dhcp.wlan0.dns1]: [8.8.8.8]
[dhcp.wlan0.dns2]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.dns3]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.dns4]: []
[net.change]: [net.dns2]
[net.dns.search]: []
[net.dns1]: [8.8.8.8]
[net.dns2]: [4.4.4.4]

shell@ja3g:/ # ping google.com

shell@ja3g:/ # tcpdump -ns0 -i wlan0 'port 53'
tcpdump: verbose output suppressed, use -v or -vv for full protocol decode
listening on br0, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 65535 bytes
14:37:40.246226 IP 192.168.1.177.3551 > 192.168.1.1.53: 52272+ A? google.com. (28)

Baseband version
I9509XXUEMK8

Kernel version
3.4.5-2092849
se.infra@R0210-02 #1
Thu Nov 21 12:59:52 KST 2013

Build number
JSS15J.I9509XXUEMK8

--
Alexander
 
maxsam4
Old
#2  
maxsam4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 165
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New Delhi

 
DONATE TO ME
There is an option to set dbs in advanced settings of the wifi networks

Sent from my GT-I9500 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
If you liked my post, then don't hesitate to hit the thanks button
My devices : I9500 (Galaxy S4) with cm 11, XT1033 (Moto G) with stock rom
Previous devices - Xperia Ray, Motorola Milestone
 
KASRU
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Moscow
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxsam4 View Post
There is an option to set dbs in advanced settings of the wifi networks
I have not found DNS.
In advanced options only:
- Proxy settings
- IP setings
 
maxsam4
Old
#4  
maxsam4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 165
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New Delhi

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by KASRU View Post
I have not found DNS.
In advanced options only:
- Proxy settings
- IP setings
Choose static ip settings and you will see the option to change dns.
I am attaching a screenshot for you

Feel free to hit the thanks button

Sent from my GT-I9500 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1396446923561.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	49.6 KB
ID:	2664369  
If you liked my post, then don't hesitate to hit the thanks button
My devices : I9500 (Galaxy S4) with cm 11, XT1033 (Moto G) with stock rom
Previous devices - Xperia Ray, Motorola Milestone
The Following User Says Thank You to maxsam4 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
KASRU
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Moscow
Default [Resolved]

Change your DNS servers in Android.
You can change the same thing on your rooted Android Device.

With root privileges and a terminal app or (adb shell):
root@:/ # ndc resolver flushif -- flushes old DNS servers
root@:/ # ndc resolver flushdefaultif -- flush resolver
root@:/ # ndc resolver setifdns <iface> <domains> <dns1> <dns2> ... -- Add the new servers
root@:/ # ndc resolver setdefaultif -- Set as the default device
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes