Post Reply

Spring GS3 4.4 ROMs

OP brranndon

1st April 2014, 02:30 AM   |  #11  
Mr. Struck's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Longmont, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 295
 
395 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie Doo

LOL. What I've read in other threads most custom ROMs have issues with LTE. That's why I was wondering.

Yeah, there have been lots of issues with the unified builds for the last two or three weeks for the ROMs that have gone with d2lte. The three I mentioned (LS, Beanstalk, and AICP) are favorites of mine right now because of a lack of issues in terms of data connectivity. My personal experience on others, like Carbon and CM11, is that LTE is fine, but they won't connect to 3G no matter what I try. This is an issue because I only have LTE access at my house, which is worthless because I use WiFi at home. At work, or whenever else I'm in town, there's no LTE, so 3G access is a must. I suppose it's a case of "flash it and see if it works" on any given ROM right now.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr. Struck For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2014, 03:09 AM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Flag Glendale, CA
Thanks Meter: 45
 
371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Struck

Yeah, there have been lots of issues with the unified builds for the last two or three weeks for the ROMs that have gone with d2lte. The three I mentioned (LS, Beanstalk, and AICP) are favorites of mine right now because of a lack of issues in terms of data connectivity. My personal experience on others, like Carbon and CM11, is that LTE is fine, but they won't connect to 3G no matter what I try. This is an issue because I only have LTE access at my house, which is worthless because I use WiFi at home. At work, or whenever else I'm in town, there's no LTE, so 3G access is a must. I suppose it's a case of "flash it and see if it works" on any given ROM right now.

Thanx, I'll give LS a try and see how it works. Will keep you posted.
The Following User Says Thank You to Robbie Doo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2014, 03:20 AM   |  #13  
Mr. Struck's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Longmont, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 295
 
395 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie Doo

Thanx, I'll give LS a try and see how it works. Will keep you posted.

If you have working data (LTE & 3G) on your current ROM, make sure to make a backup of your APN settings just in case, apparently a lot of the users, on any ROM, who have experienced issues have had to fiddle with their APN settings to get things working again. Doesn't hurt to flash a stock based ROM for this purpose as well, and know how to do a PRL/Profile update on stock based also. There is a really good app on the Play Store called APN Backup and Restore for this purpose, it needs to be in the /system/priv-app file in order to work properly on KitKat just FYI.
1st April 2014, 03:35 AM   |  #14  
Senior Member
Flag Glendale, CA
Thanks Meter: 45
 
371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Struck

If you have working data (LTE & 3G) on your current ROM, make sure to make a backup of your APN settings just in case, apparently a lot of the users, on any ROM, who have experienced issues have had to fiddle with their APN settings to get things working again. Doesn't hurt to flash a stock based ROM for this purpose as well, and know how to do a PRL/Profile update on stock based also. There is a really good app on the Play Store called APN Backup and Restore for this purpose, it needs to be in the /system/priv-app file in order to work properly on KitKat just FYI.

Thanks for the info. However, that's my ordeal. Ever since I switched to CM 11 drlte from drspr I get no LTE. It's always on 3G, and I live in a 4G/LTE area. I like the ROM very much but I thought I'm paying for 4G/LTE service and I'm not getting any. Might as well find something that works (at least temporarily), until they sort it out.
1st April 2014, 03:53 AM   |  #15  
Mr. Struck's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Longmont, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 295
 
395 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie Doo

Thanks for the info. However, that's my ordeal. Ever since I switched to CM 11 drlte from drspr I get no LTE. It's always on 3G, and I live in a 4G/LTE area. I like the ROM very much but I thought I'm paying for 4G/LTE service and I'm not getting any. Might as well find something that works (at least temporarily), until they sort it out.

In that case I would highly recommend booting up any stock based ROM in order to do an update to your PRL and Profile. Once booted up, open the phone app and dial ##72786#. The phone will do two reboots, and then you will be good to go. Don't touch anything until it has definitely finished the procedure. Not saying that this will enable LTE on CM11, but sometimes users have retained data issues when switching ROMs until they have done this procedure, i.e. another ROM that doesn't have LTE issues may not show LTE connectivity until you update PRL/Profile.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr. Struck For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2014, 04:24 AM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Flag Glendale, CA
Thanks Meter: 45
 
371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Struck

In that case I would highly recommend booting up any stock based ROM in order to do an update to your PRL and Profile. Once booted up, open the phone app and dial ##72786#. The phone will do two reboots, and then you will be good to go. Don't touch anything until it has definitely finished the procedure. Not saying that this will enable LTE on CM11, but sometimes users have retained data issues when switching ROMs until they have done this procedure, i.e. another ROM that doesn't have LTE issues may not show LTE connectivity until you update PRL/Profile.

Thanks, I will try it now.
1st April 2014, 02:57 PM   |  #17  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessooca

Try this one, it's a stable build
http://goo.gl/5WExT9

here's the GAPPS for it as well...
http://goo.gl/2kvUC8

I've used it for a couple weeks, with zero issues.

Thanks for all the help. I think I'm going to wait for a couple weeks since the official v4.4 just came out.
1st April 2014, 05:19 PM   |  #18  
Jessooca's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Redwood City, CA
Thanks Meter: 350
 
480 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Again...that is a STABLE build, so it's free of issues. For me it has been
2nd April 2014, 07:34 PM   |  #19  
Senior Member
Flag Glendale, CA
Thanks Meter: 45
 
371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Struck

In that case I would highly recommend booting up any stock based ROM in order to do an update to your PRL and Profile. Once booted up, open the phone app and dial ##72786#. The phone will do two reboots, and then you will be good to go. Don't touch anything until it has definitely finished the procedure. Not saying that this will enable LTE on CM11, but sometimes users have retained data issues when switching ROMs until they have done this procedure, i.e. another ROM that doesn't have LTE issues may not show LTE connectivity until you update PRL/Profile.

Anyhow, Mr. Struck. I went back to stock and did what you have suggested. Went back to custom and got my LTE back. Everything seems to be working ok (so far).

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes