Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] What about upgrading baseband (JB 4.3)

OP Yokav

21st March 2014, 01:36 PM   |  #1  
Yokav's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Belgium
Thanks Meter: 486
 
311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Hey,

I'm planing to upgrade my Xperia T from 4.1 to 4.3.

Filesystem will be updated through CWM, as well as the kernel. But what about the baseband ?

I only see some comments about using Flashtool to update the kernel (if it's not available in the zip file that will be use to upgrade filesystem with CWM). But when I see some screenshots from people using JB 4.3, in the "About the phone" section, the baseband ends with *-60 when on my JB 4.1, I'm still with a bseband ending with *-56...
2nd April 2014, 05:31 PM   |  #2  
Yokav's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Belgium
Thanks Meter: 486
 
311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Bump

No one tried to update the baseband?
2nd April 2014, 05:42 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Koog aan de Zaan
Thanks Meter: 107
 
379 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Why don't try? Get an FTF file from .199 4.3 rom from sony and flash only the baseband
2nd April 2014, 06:27 PM   |  #4  
bsined's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington, DC
Thanks Meter: 97
 
211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
I've discovered that every ROM has its own baseband number in About phone and flashing just the baseband from another ROM has no effect on that but does affect your phone's ability to connect to the data network.
2nd April 2014, 10:01 PM   |  #5  
Yokav's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Belgium
Thanks Meter: 486
 
311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
@silasje1
I'm not ready for the upgrade but fore sure, when I will be, I will update the baseband. I just would like to know if there is a particular reason why nobody speak about that...

---

And from what I know, yes the baseband is related to the ability to connect to a network. But maybe not only, I read that the baseband of a Samsung has something to do with the GPS.

Anyway, as upgrade from 4.1 is a major upgrade, I think that it's better to upgrade this baseband.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes