Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Computer Recognizes but won't turn on

OP lachiee

2nd April 2014, 10:49 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Hey,

I just got a htc one of ebay and it doesn't turn on,
I've tried holding down the power and volume buttons with no success.

My computer makes the usb plugged in noise when i plug it in and then a few seconds later makes the disconnect noise, and it will keep doing this.

any advice?
2nd April 2014, 01:13 PM   |  #2  
Boachti's Avatar
Senior Member
Luxembourg
Thanks Meter: 20
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lachiee

Hey,

I just got a htc one of ebay and it doesn't turn on,
I've tried holding down the power and volume buttons with no success.

My computer makes the usb plugged in noise when i plug it in and then a few seconds later makes the disconnect noise, and it will keep doing this.

any advice?

tip in the command prompt "adb devices" to see if your device is recognized
2nd April 2014, 02:47 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 98
 
594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Try shining a bright light on the proximity sensor and holding power and volume down

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
2nd April 2014, 02:55 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
@Boachti
There is no devices listed :\

@nateboi81
I tried that, does a torch of another phone count as bright?
2nd April 2014, 03:03 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 98
 
594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I would probably try a bigger light source like a lamp or maybe hold it up high to a light in a room. Just to make sure that doesn't fix it

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
2nd April 2014, 03:39 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by nateboi81

I would probably try a bigger light source like a lamp or maybe hold it up high to a light in a room. Just to make sure that doesn't fix it

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app


I tried with my room light but no luck. I don't have the charger it came with though, so I'm thinking that help? I have a 1.5a charger but the phone only wants 1a :\
2nd April 2014, 06:53 PM   |  #7  
Boachti's Avatar
Senior Member
Luxembourg
Thanks Meter: 20
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lachiee

I tried with my room light but no luck. I don't have the charger it came with though, so I'm thinking that help? I have a 1.5a charger but the phone only wants 1a :\

does the red light turns on when you try to charge it ?
3rd April 2014, 03:04 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boachti

does the red light turns on when you try to charge it ?


nah the light doesn't turn on at all :\
3rd April 2014, 06:32 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 98
 
594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Mmm doesn't sound good....

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
3rd April 2014, 11:17 AM   |  #10  
Boachti's Avatar
Senior Member
Luxembourg
Thanks Meter: 20
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lachiee

nah the light doesn't turn on at all :\

hmm...not good
plug it in your pc and tip adb reboot or in commadn prompt maybe this can help

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes