Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,468 Members 37,971 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Amazon Fire Tv

Tip us?
 
gregcavaretta
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 11
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default [Q] Amazon Fire Tv

as some of you may know by now amazon has released its Amazon fire Tv witch is like apple tv.... so what i want to know is this an android OS because its uses the app store and has games like Minecraft or Need For Speed... if theres aonther forum for plases let me know

because after i know its andorid then comes the race for ROOT access
 
shimp208
Old
#2  
shimp208's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,537
Posts: 2,235
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Boston

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregcavaretta View Post
as some of you may know by now amazon has released its Amazon fire Tv witch is like apple tv.... so what i want to know is this an android OS because its uses the app store and has games like Minecraft or Need For Speed... if theres aonther forum for plases let me know

because after i know its andorid then comes the race for ROOT access
The Amazon Fire TV like the Kindle Fire series of devices runs a heavily modified version of the Android operating system. As far root access goes, I'm sure in due time the development community will root the device and allow you to install Google apps that include the framework files necessary for the Play Store to work properly.
 
gregcavaretta
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 11
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by shimp208 View Post
The Amazon Fire TV like the Kindle Fire series of devices runs a heavily modified version of the Android operating system. As far root access goes, I'm sure in due time the development community will root the device and allow you to install Google apps that include the framework files necessary for the Play Store to work properly.
well i do know you can plug it into a computer with adb so getting root won't be that hard...if you brick i wonder if you can use something like fastboot
 
shimp208
Old
#4  
shimp208's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,537
Posts: 2,235
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Boston

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregcavaretta View Post
well i do know you can plug it into a computer with adb so getting root won't be that hard...if you brick i wonder if you can use something like fastboot
They may have taken a different attitude then with the kindle fire devices which came with locked bootloaders. Out of curiosity can you pull the build.prop and upload it. Additionally try running the command:

Code:
adb reboot bootloader
Then in fastboot:

Code:
fastboot devices
And seeing what it says as this will give insight into a possible root method.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
gregcavaretta
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 11
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by shimp208 View Post
They may have taken a different attitude then with the kindle fire devices which came with locked bootloaders. Out of curiosity can you pull the build.prop and upload it. Additionally try running the command:

Code:
adb reboot bootloader
Then in fastboot:

Code:
fastboot devices
And seeing what it says as this will give insight into a possible root method.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I'll post when mine comes in two days i was at a my buddy's house when i tested it out.....as I recall to access /system/ on the kindle Fire HD , HDX
and any other android you don't need root permissions to access to build.prop how ever you would need root access to edit it (duh) that is if apps like es file explore Or Astro File manager work.

I don't about fastboot yet i'll try a few things.



For those who want to buy this they can at

http://www.amazon.com/Amazon-CL1130-.../dp/B00CX5P8FC
 
daweeze02
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 303
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregcavaretta View Post
well i do know you can plug it into a computer with adb so getting root won't be that hard...if you brick i wonder if you can use something like fastboot

ADB is done via IP on this one


https://developer.amazon.com/sdk/asb/connect-adb.html
 
Determined
Old
(Last edited by Determined; 4th April 2014 at 10:06 PM.)
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 16
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default It is hackable!

Quote:
Originally Posted by daweeze02 View Post

If you take it apart, there are easily accessible UART and JTAG ports. If I have time, I'll dig further over the weekend. Somebody, please beat me to this.

"adb reboot bootloader" puts it into the bootloader. Power led blinks and HDMI display only shows amazon's logo, need to check serial port.
"adb reboot recovery" also works (displays Amazon "System Update")
 
shimp208
Old
#8  
shimp208's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,537
Posts: 2,235
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Boston

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Determined View Post
If you take it apart, there are easily accessible UART and JTAG ports. If I have time, I'll dig further over the weekend. Somebody, please beat me to this.

"adb reboot bootloader" puts it into the bootloader. Power led blinks and HDMI display only shows amazon's logo, need to check serial port.
"adb reboot recovery" also works (displays Amazon "System Update")
Does fastboot devices in the bootloader show anything?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Determined
Old
(Last edited by Determined; 5th April 2014 at 03:01 AM.)
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 16
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by shimp208 View Post
Does fastboot devices in the bootloader show anything?
The problem is that adb is accessible over IP only (or at least I have not yet found other way) and I cannot do fastboot.

build.prop attached. Also, here is a (mostly useless) boot log from the internal serial port (115200-8N1)
Code:
Android Bootloader - UART_DM Initialized!!!
[0] welcome to lk: current version is lk_rel_3.0.1_02272014
[10] platform_init()
[10] target_init(): platform_id 109
[10] Its BUELLER. revision 3
[70] display_init(),target_id=7337.
[70] hdmi_msm_panel_init: default format=4
[2730] splash_screen_mmc :235, 67
[2750] Config HDMI PANEL.
[2750] Turn on HDMI PANEL.
[2760] EDID: no DTD or non-DTD data present
[2760] EDID: no DTD or non-DTD data present
[2760] hdmi_edid_get_audio_data: No adb found
[2770] hdmi_audio_playback: 48KHz not supported by TV
[2770] hdmi_msm_audio_acr_setup: video format 0 not supported
[2780] aboot_init: calling idme_initialize 
[2780] Idme version is 2.0 and set related function to V2.0
[2790] IDME INFO: checking for new items to add (stored items:12  specified items:12)
[2790] serial num from idme: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
[2800] Reboot -- restart_reason=427810811 (0x197fdffb) 
[2800] aboot_init: IDME - device boot up info
[2810] idme items number:12
[2810] name: board_id, size: 16, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data= XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
[2820] name: serial, size: 16, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data= XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
[2830] name: mac_addr, size: 16, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data= XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
[2830] name: bt_mac_addr, size: 16, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data= XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
[2840] name: productid, size: 32, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data= 00000000000000000000000000000000
[2850] name: productid2, size: 32, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data= 00000000000000000000000000000000
[2860] name: bootmode, size: 4, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data= 1
[2860] name: postmode, size: 4, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data= 2
[2870] name: bootcount, size: 8, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data= 32
[2880] name: eth_mac_addr, size: 16, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data= XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
[2890] bootcount = 33
[3080] aboot_init: Boot linux from MMC 
[3090] boot_into_recovery=0  idme_bootmode=1 (NORMAL) 
[3090] use_signed_kernel=1, is_unlocked=0, is_tampered=0.
[3100] Loading boot image (6344704): start
[3340] Loading boot image (6344704): done
[3340] Authenticating boot image (6344704): start
[3350] Attempting to enable ce3_src_clk before setting its rate.[3360] TZ channel swith returned 0
[5070] TZ channel swith returned 0
[5070] Authenticating boot image: done return value = 1
[5090] cmdline = 'androidboot.hardware=qcom user_debug=31 msm_rtb.filter=0x3F ehci-hcd.park=3 maxcpus=2'
[5100] Power on reason 1
[5100] Its bueller again 3.
[5100] cmdline_length=170, n=172, n1=45
[5110] IDME: idme atag init (export to kernel),  atag_size=514 
[5110] name: board_id, size: 16, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
[5120] name: serial, size: 16, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
[5130] name: mac_addr, size: 16, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
[5140] name: bt_mac_addr, size: 16, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
[5140] name: productid, size: 32, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data: 00000000000000000000000000000000
[5150] name: productid2, size: 32, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data: 00000000000000000000000000000000
[5160] name: bootmode, size: 4, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data: 1
[5170] name: postmode, size: 4, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data: 2
[5180] name: bootcount, size: 8, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data: 33
[5180] name: eth_mac_addr, size: 16, exportable: 1, permission: 292, data: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
[5190] The atag idme items number:11

booting linux @ 0x80208000, ramdisk @ 0x82200000 (368957)
Attached Files
File Type: txt atv_build.prop.txt - [Click for QR Code] (6.0 KB, 41 views)
 
gregcavaretta
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 11
Join Date: Feb 2014
If you look in the back there's a usb port I'm going to try using usb to usb from it to my computer...

I know this is for a thumb drive or keyboard but you never know
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Amazon-Fire-TV-back.jpg
Views:	278
Size:	196.0 KB
ID:	2669056  

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes