Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,250 Members 41,842 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Reflashing firmware - what about simlock?

Tip us?
 
ToastnButter
Old
#1  
ToastnButter's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 90
Posts: 187
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rybnik/Kraków
Default Reflashing firmware - what about simlock?

Hello, so I'm currently rocking stock tesco UK firmware, have sim-unlocked the phone legally, but I'd like to reinstall the system (because of couple of software bugs). If I flash it, will the phone re-lock sim too?
And what's the difference between tesco and UK retail firmware?
 
liveroy
Old
#2  
liveroy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stara Zagora

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToastnButter View Post
Hello, so I'm currently rocking stock tesco UK firmware, have sim-unlocked the phone legally, but I'd like to reinstall the system (because of couple of software bugs). If I flash it, will the phone re-lock sim too?
And what's the difference between tesco and UK retail firmware?
It won't get sim-locked if you flash it, the sim lock data is located on a special partition, that you can't really modify.

There are virtually no differences between those two.
Mental issues lead to the use of long signatures

Care much for receiving Thanks?Bitching at the others about it doesn't help, instead better stfu and gtfo.
The Following User Says Thank You to liveroy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ToastnButter
Old
#3  
ToastnButter's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 90
Posts: 187
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rybnik/Kraków
Thank you! And does anyone can tell the difference between retail and tesco build?
 
forgotter
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 102
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Vapi
Tesco built firmware is managed by tesco and are dedicated to services from Tesco whereas Retail build means a common built which are not modified by service providers.
Be helpful and press thanks if someone helps you.
Search the forum before posting any question.
 
ToastnButter
Old
#5  
ToastnButter's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 90
Posts: 187
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rybnik/Kraków
So there are no actual differences in the firmware then, ok.
Correct if I'm wrong then, but basically, when you flash a GPE firmware over a retail or tesco moto g, this basically makes it the same as GPE phone? OTA updates and all?
 
ToastnButter
Old
#6  
ToastnButter's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 90
Posts: 187
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rybnik/Kraków
Most importantly - do I have to unlock the bootloader in order to flash GPE rom on non-gpe Moto G?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...