Quo Vadis, Open {Source, Standards, World}? w/ Jan Wildeboer – XDA:DevCon 2014

Open Source was a big topic at this years XDA:DevCon … more

Android 5.0 Leaked for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Android Lollipop is still making its way to many new devices. Firmware updates have been … more

Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Reflashing firmware - what about simlock?

OP ToastnButter

3rd April 2014, 09:59 AM   |  #1  
ToastnButter's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rybnik/Kraków
Thanks Meter: 90
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Hello, so I'm currently rocking stock tesco UK firmware, have sim-unlocked the phone legally, but I'd like to reinstall the system (because of couple of software bugs). If I flash it, will the phone re-lock sim too?
And what's the difference between tesco and UK retail firmware?
3rd April 2014, 12:49 PM   |  #2  
liveroy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stara Zagora
Thanks Meter: 74
 
312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToastnButter

Hello, so I'm currently rocking stock tesco UK firmware, have sim-unlocked the phone legally, but I'd like to reinstall the system (because of couple of software bugs). If I flash it, will the phone re-lock sim too?
And what's the difference between tesco and UK retail firmware?

It won't get sim-locked if you flash it, the sim lock data is located on a special partition, that you can't really modify.

There are virtually no differences between those two.
The Following User Says Thank You to liveroy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd April 2014, 01:20 PM   |  #3  
ToastnButter's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rybnik/Kraków
Thanks Meter: 90
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Thank you! And does anyone can tell the difference between retail and tesco build?
3rd April 2014, 03:59 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Vapi
Thanks Meter: 39
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Tesco built firmware is managed by tesco and are dedicated to services from Tesco whereas Retail build means a common built which are not modified by service providers.
4th April 2014, 12:16 AM   |  #5  
ToastnButter's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rybnik/Kraków
Thanks Meter: 90
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
So there are no actual differences in the firmware then, ok.
Correct if I'm wrong then, but basically, when you flash a GPE firmware over a retail or tesco moto g, this basically makes it the same as GPE phone? OTA updates and all?
4th April 2014, 12:30 AM   |  #6  
ToastnButter's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rybnik/Kraków
Thanks Meter: 90
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Most importantly - do I have to unlock the bootloader in order to flash GPE rom on non-gpe Moto G?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes