FORUMS

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more

Which Features from Apple Watch Do You Think Android Wear Will Copy?

The Apple Watch and Android Wear are both growing platforms. Now … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 22)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Android 5.1 for the Nvidia Shield Tablet is Out!

Nvidia is quite good at delivering updates in a timely fashion. The producer of famous … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

How to boot up your phone in safe mode.

2nd April 2014, 12:59 PM |#1  
If your device are causing problems, you can enter the safe mode to troubleshoot the problem by

1)Turning off your device
2)Press the power button.
3)When the time the Samsung logo appears, hold down the Volume down key until you reach the lock screen.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to IzArsha For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
2nd April 2014, 09:49 PM |#2  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Waratah
Thanks Meter: 627
 
More
Be aware that all apps installed are disabled in safe mode...
The Following User Says Thank You to ultramag69 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd April 2014, 12:04 AM |#3  
antique_sonic's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Corner of the earth
Thanks Meter: 1,099
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultramag69

Be aware that all apps installed are disabled in safe mode...

Hehehe. That's why called safe mode.


Sent from N7105, powered by DittoNote3 v.3.2 with AGNi PSN purestock v3.9.3 OC
The Following User Says Thank You to antique_sonic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd April 2014, 03:24 AM |#4  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Waratah
Thanks Meter: 627
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by antique_sonic

Hehehe. That's why called safe mode.


Sent from N7105, powered by DittoNote3 v.3.2 with AGNi PSN purestock v3.9.3 OC

Yep, but sometimes it comes as a surprise, especially if you wanted to use a specific app but forgot that it was a 3rd party app.
Was quite a shock to discover this mode when I wasn't aware of it... Loosing approx. 350 apps is a shock... Luckily I saw "safe mode" on the screen before reflahing back to stock and starting again which is my fallback if things go wrong....
The Following User Says Thank You to ultramag69 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd April 2014, 03:39 AM |#5  
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultramag69

Yep, but sometimes it comes as a surprise, especially if you wanted to use a specific app but forgot that it was a 3rd party app.
Was quite a shock to discover this mode when I wasn't aware of it... Loosing approx. 350 apps is a shock... Luckily I saw "safe mode" on the screen before reflahing back to stock and starting again which is my fallback if things go wrong....

Yes when we enter safe mode there are only samsung garbage appear. I thought we all knew this. I knew it since i was on note 2. That's why i backup my touchwiz layout and data using titanium backup before i attempt to use the safe mode. Anyway im sorry if your phone goes wrong because im not giving the instruction very well

Sent from Hacker OS
Last edited by IzArsha; 3rd April 2014 at 03:49 AM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to IzArsha For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd April 2014, 04:18 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
This is quite nice to know. Cant imagine yet though when it will be quite useful at least for me.
4th April 2014, 04:18 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Safe mode is a way to boot up the phone when only original, factory installed programs load up. The most obvious reason to do so would be: lets say you install some new application and phone no longer works. With safe mode you can boot up the phone and delete offending app and be all golden in no time at all, otherwise the only option would be to wipe and reload everything anew, rather very time consuming proposition. In other words safe mode is trouble shooting tool and should only be used as such, with malfunctioning phone. It saved my arse quiet few times with my Win computer, and albeit I had no reason to use it on my phone yet, except for testing, it's good to know such option exists just in case.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes