Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

WiFi issues

OP murryrulz

5th April 2014, 01:48 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Anyone else with WiFi issues? 90% of the time I have no problems but 10% of the time it seems the connection hangs. Data transfer will pause and resume 30 secs or a minute later. I have tested this with speed test and was able to reproduce. Happens on both my 2ghz and 5ghz networks. I am rooted but I'm going to do a factory reset to see if issue persists. I do know it's not my WiFi as my other devices have no trouble. But this is quite annoying.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
5th April 2014, 03:24 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag Honolulu
Thanks Meter: 3
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by murryrulz

Anyone else with WiFi issues? 90% of the time I have no problems but 10% of the time it seems the connection hangs. Data transfer will pause and resume 30 secs or a minute later. I have tested this with speed test and was able to reproduce. Happens on both my 2ghz and 5ghz networks. I am rooted but I'm going to do a factory reset to see if issue persists. I do know it's not my WiFi as my other devices have no trouble. But this is quite annoying.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

Are you by chance using an Apple router or access point? For some reason, they don't seem to play well with Android devices, including my M8. I've had a similar experience with 4 Android devices and 2 different Apple routers. The devices continuously disconnect and reconnect.
5th April 2014, 03:26 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
No I'm using an Asus ac66. The funny thing is the connection doesn't drop. It always says connected. The data just stops flowing and then starts again. For example I'll run a speed test and the download will pause then start up again. Very odd. Never had a phone do this before

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
5th April 2014, 03:29 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 85
 
295 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
I've got an Apple Airport Extreme. I also have several Android devices. Have had many that I no long have or use. I've never had any problem with my wifi on any of them. I have to wonder if your problem isn't related to something else. Or, possibly your router needs to be replaced. Might be a matter of settings too. But, like I said, I've never had any problems with mine.
5th April 2014, 06:40 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 4
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Within the "Advanced Wi-Fi" settings there is an auto-enabled option called "Wi-Fi Optimization" which minimizes battery usage when Wi-Fi is on. I assume this monitors for extended periods of inactivity (screen off, no active downloads, etc.) and temporarily disables/hibernates Wi-Fi activity.

I've kept this option enabled and haven't had any issues so far, but maybe you could try testing with/without this setting enabled? Another thing to try would be checking highly-used radio channels in your area with an application like InSSIDer and making sure your router is broadcasting on a low-use channel. I see no correlation with the radio channel and your new M8, but it's worth a try
7th April 2014, 11:26 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by insertnewsn

Within the "Advanced Wi-Fi" settings there is an auto-enabled option called "Wi-Fi Optimization" which minimizes battery usage when Wi-Fi is on. I assume this monitors for extended periods of inactivity (screen off, no active downloads, etc.) and temporarily disables/hibernates Wi-Fi activity.

I've kept this option enabled and haven't had any issues so far, but maybe you could try testing with/without this setting enabled? Another thing to try would be checking highly-used radio channels in your area with an application like InSSIDer and making sure your router is broadcasting on a low-use channel. I see no correlation with the radio channel and your new M8, but it's worth a try

I have the same issues. and ive turned off wifi optimizaiton, ive set my wifi control frequency to 149, ive tried to switch between 2.4 and 5ghz. i feel like my issue is with the phone not picking up the wifi signals very well... we live in a brick house, and the asus ac68u sits right in the middle of th house, and my room is only right around the corner. everyone elses phone picks up 5ghz or 2.4ghz frequency fine in my room, even my gf's M8 (we bought ours from verizon same time for the deal). i literally get wifi in my rom 10% of the time or its choppy and slow. so everytime im in my room i have to switch to cellular :|
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes