Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,418 Members 48,229 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

WiFi issues

Tip us?
 
murryrulz
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 67
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default WiFi issues

Anyone else with WiFi issues? 90% of the time I have no problems but 10% of the time it seems the connection hangs. Data transfer will pause and resume 30 secs or a minute later. I have tested this with speed test and was able to reproduce. Happens on both my 2ghz and 5ghz networks. I am rooted but I'm going to do a factory reset to see if issue persists. I do know it's not my WiFi as my other devices have no trouble. But this is quite annoying.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
 
bjamerican
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 8
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Honolulu
Quote:
Originally Posted by murryrulz View Post
Anyone else with WiFi issues? 90% of the time I have no problems but 10% of the time it seems the connection hangs. Data transfer will pause and resume 30 secs or a minute later. I have tested this with speed test and was able to reproduce. Happens on both my 2ghz and 5ghz networks. I am rooted but I'm going to do a factory reset to see if issue persists. I do know it's not my WiFi as my other devices have no trouble. But this is quite annoying.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
Are you by chance using an Apple router or access point? For some reason, they don't seem to play well with Android devices, including my M8. I've had a similar experience with 4 Android devices and 2 different Apple routers. The devices continuously disconnect and reconnect.
 
murryrulz
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 67
Join Date: Oct 2010
No I'm using an Asus ac66. The funny thing is the connection doesn't drop. It always says connected. The data just stops flowing and then starts again. For example I'll run a speed test and the download will pause then start up again. Very odd. Never had a phone do this before

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
 
robocuff
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 284
Join Date: Jul 2011
I've got an Apple Airport Extreme. I also have several Android devices. Have had many that I no long have or use. I've never had any problem with my wifi on any of them. I have to wonder if your problem isn't related to something else. Or, possibly your router needs to be replaced. Might be a matter of settings too. But, like I said, I've never had any problems with mine.
 
insertnewsn
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 29
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brooklyn
Within the "Advanced Wi-Fi" settings there is an auto-enabled option called "Wi-Fi Optimization" which minimizes battery usage when Wi-Fi is on. I assume this monitors for extended periods of inactivity (screen off, no active downloads, etc.) and temporarily disables/hibernates Wi-Fi activity.

I've kept this option enabled and haven't had any issues so far, but maybe you could try testing with/without this setting enabled? Another thing to try would be checking highly-used radio channels in your area with an application like InSSIDer and making sure your router is broadcasting on a low-use channel. I see no correlation with the radio channel and your new M8, but it's worth a try
 
jojomexi
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 7
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by insertnewsn View Post
Within the "Advanced Wi-Fi" settings there is an auto-enabled option called "Wi-Fi Optimization" which minimizes battery usage when Wi-Fi is on. I assume this monitors for extended periods of inactivity (screen off, no active downloads, etc.) and temporarily disables/hibernates Wi-Fi activity.

I've kept this option enabled and haven't had any issues so far, but maybe you could try testing with/without this setting enabled? Another thing to try would be checking highly-used radio channels in your area with an application like InSSIDer and making sure your router is broadcasting on a low-use channel. I see no correlation with the radio channel and your new M8, but it's worth a try
I have the same issues. and ive turned off wifi optimizaiton, ive set my wifi control frequency to 149, ive tried to switch between 2.4 and 5ghz. i feel like my issue is with the phone not picking up the wifi signals very well... we live in a brick house, and the asus ac68u sits right in the middle of th house, and my room is only right around the corner. everyone elses phone picks up 5ghz or 2.4ghz frequency fine in my room, even my gf's M8 (we bought ours from verizon same time for the deal). i literally get wifi in my rom 10% of the time or its choppy and slow. so everytime im in my room i have to switch to cellular :|
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes