Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,698 Members 49,527 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] : some changes failed. need to transfer new rom

Tip us?
 
kmacho714
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default [Q] : some changes failed. need to transfer new rom

I was trying to install bad seeds sense 6 and sadly did not back up and did not had any old rom as aback up. the rom installed ok but i got this at the end set_metadata_recursive: some changes failed . the phone just keeps rebooting to twrp. i tried to transfer another rom via adb but im not getting my commands right, any other way to add another rom. or way to update my twrp ? please help?
 
tdhite
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1906
Posts: 975
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: DFW

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmacho714 View Post
I was trying to install bad seeds sense 6 and sadly did not back up and did not had any old rom as aback up. the rom installed ok but i got this at the end set_metadata_recursive: some changes failed . the phone just keeps rebooting to twrp. i tried to transfer another rom via adb but im not getting my commands right, any other way to add another rom. or way to update my twrp ? please help?
Here's what to do (before having to RUU):
  1. boot into TWRP;
  2. connect USB cable;
  3. adb shell into the device;
    Code:
    adb shell
  4. see if /sdcard is ok (meaning you didn't mistakenly flash entirely the wrong ROM or something):
    Code:
    ls /sdcard
  5. if the above shows files is a list of tings you recognize (like Downloads, Ringtones, whatever), two things are ok: i) your data area; and ii) your adb is working, then issue these commands (for good measure):
    Code:
    umount /system
    exit
  6. Using TWRP normally (use the touch screen), Wipe the following: system, cache, dalvik-cache, data;
  7. Now, push a ROM file you want, for now I'd suggest one of the Sense 5.5 ROMs -- at least until the Sense 6 ROMs stabilize a bit more and we've had time to settle out all the new idiosynchrasies). Once downloaded, you'll have some zip file, let's call it "myrom.zip" for the purpose of commands (it'll be something different, just use the actual file name instead of myrom.zip below):
    Code:
    adb push myrom.zip /sdcard
  8. Using the TWRP touch interface, just install the rom from /sdcard/myrom.zip

Just fyi -- the Sense 6 Roms have been exhibiting some oddities for folks in recoveries -- the issue actually is not the ROM, rather in the ext4 file system and some file system metadata bugs when dropping so many files in one shot as the ROM installer zips are doing. I've been debugging this in my TWRP builds and will be putting an option in to cover for the problem (it's deep in the android of ext4, believe it or not -- the kernel is detecting a problem and remounting the file systems read-only and that's what makes the install fail).

Hope this helps.
The Following User Says Thank You to tdhite For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kmacho714
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default twrp sideload

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdhite View Post
Here's what to do (before having to RUU):
  1. boot into TWRP;
  2. connect USB cable;
  3. adb shell into the device;
    Code:
    adb shell
  4. see if /sdcard is ok (meaning you didn't mistakenly flash entirely the wrong ROM or something):
    Code:
    ls /sdcard
  5. if the above shows files is a list of tings you recognize (like Downloads, Ringtones, whatever), two things are ok: i) your data area; and ii) your adb is working, then issue these commands (for good measure):
    Code:
    umount /system
    exit
  6. Using TWRP normally (use the touch screen), Wipe the following: system, cache, dalvik-cache, data;
  7. Now, push a ROM file you want, for now I'd suggest one of the Sense 5.5 ROMs -- at least until the Sense 6 ROMs stabilize a bit more and we've had time to settle out all the new idiosynchrasies). Once downloaded, you'll have some zip file, let's call it "myrom.zip" for the purpose of commands (it'll be something different, just use the actual file name instead of myrom.zip below):
    Code:
    adb push myrom.zip /sdcard
  8. Using the TWRP touch interface, just install the rom from /sdcard/myrom.zip

Just fyi -- the Sense 6 Roms have been exhibiting some oddities for folks in recoveries -- the issue actually is not the ROM, rather in the ext4 file system and some file system metadata bugs when dropping so many files in one shot as the ROM installer zips are doing. I've been debugging this in my TWRP builds and will be putting an option in to cover for the problem (it's deep in the android of ext4, believe it or not -- the kernel is detecting a problem and remounting the file systems read-only and that's what makes the install fail).

Hope this helps.

sorry but i feel so ignorant. i installed the drivers and have the rom ready, but how to i the phone to adb shell. do i go to mount on twrp or on the advance settings adb sideload? when i put adb shell in the command prompt but it says adb not recognized. i would really appreciate your help if you could help me with more detail if possible.
 
tdhite
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1906
Posts: 975
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: DFW

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmacho714 View Post
sorry but i feel so ignorant. i installed the drivers and have the rom ready, but how to i the phone to adb shell. do i go to mount on twrp or on the advance settings adb sideload? when i put adb shell in the command prompt but it says adb not recognized. i would really appreciate your help if you could help me with more detail if possible.
Goodness -- I thought you were all setup for adb and understood this stuff.

Here's what you need to do *first*, then follow the instructions above after you get adb working. To "adb shell" in to the phone -- you will boot into TWRP, which starts the adb server on the phone. But you use your computer and a "command terminal" window. We have to have this one way or another, so you have to learn. You will plug in your USB cable to the phone and computer, then the commands will work -- yes, they will work with TWRP.

To setup the adb stuff, learn here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2277892 and look for Question 8
 
kmacho714
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default adb

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdhite View Post
Here's what to do (before having to RUU):
  1. boot into TWRP;
  2. connect USB cable;
  3. adb shell into the device;
    Code:
    adb shell
  4. see if /sdcard is ok (meaning you didn't mistakenly flash entirely the wrong ROM or something):
    Code:
    ls /sdcard
  5. if the above shows files is a list of tings you recognize (like Downloads, Ringtones, whatever), two things are ok: i) your data area; and ii) your adb is working, then issue these commands (for good measure):
    Code:
    umount /system
    exit
  6. Using TWRP normally (use the touch screen), Wipe the following: system, cache, dalvik-cache, data;
  7. Now, push a ROM file you want, for now I'd suggest one of the Sense 5.5 ROMs -- at least until the Sense 6 ROMs stabilize a bit more and we've had time to settle out all the new idiosynchrasies). Once downloaded, you'll have some zip file, let's call it "myrom.zip" for the purpose of commands (it'll be something different, just use the actual file name instead of myrom.zip below):
    Code:
    adb push myrom.zip /sdcard
  8. Using the TWRP touch interface, just install the rom from /sdcard/myrom.zip

Just fyi -- the Sense 6 Roms have been exhibiting some oddities for folks in recoveries -- the issue actually is not the ROM, rather in the ext4 file system and some file system metadata bugs when dropping so many files in one shot as the ROM installer zips are doing. I've been debugging this in my TWRP builds and will be putting an option in to cover for the problem (it's deep in the android of ext4, believe it or not -- the kernel is detecting a problem and remounting the file systems read-only and that's what makes the install fail).

Hope this helps.
do i need android sdk? and htc sync? i have the drivers i think? on my device managers it doesnt say adb . just device and on the info it says htc device
 
kmacho714
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default thank you

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdhite View Post
Goodness -- I thought you were all setup for adb and understood this stuff.

Here's what you need to do *first*, then follow the instructions above after you get adb working. To "adb shell" in to the phone -- you will boot into TWRP, which starts the adb server on the phone. But you use your computer and a "command terminal" window. We have to have this one way or another, so you have to learn. You will plug in your USB cable to the phone and computer, then the commands will work -- yes, they will work with TWRP.

To setup the adb stuff, learn here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2277892 and look for Question 8


thanks a lot! those commands work ! just needed to install the drivers . thanks! again
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

[APK] Chrome Beta 37 Brings First Traces of Material Design

With Android L on the horizon, it’s no surprise that Google’s … more

Immersive Mode on Unrooted Devices with GMD Full Screen Immersive Mode

Everyone likes screen real estate–no question about that. The … more

Android Wear App Review: EchoWear Song Search – XDA Developer TV

Yesterday on XDA Developer TV, Producer AdamOutler tore down a Samsung … more