Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more

Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner American phone manufacturer … more

Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more
Post Reply

[Q] Why is Incredible S CPU msm7x30?

OP rqmok

5th April 2014, 01:42 PM   |  #1  
rqmok's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Adelaide
Thanks Meter: 358
 
675 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Hey there!

I have just received a vivo, and I would like to develop for it. The phone's specs state that vivo is msm8255, but when I look into the device tree of the phone, the ROMs use msm7x30 platform. Can someone please explain this to me?

Also, does anyone know the name of chips in vivo. This is a very hard thing to find. For example, the bluetooth is BCM4329.
If no one has this information then it is alright, but I would like to my first question answered.

Thank You.
The Following User Says Thank You to rqmok For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th April 2014, 07:59 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 634
 
1,667 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rqmok

Hey there!

I have just received a vivo, and I would like to develop for it. The phone's specs state that vivo is msm8255, but when I look into the device tree of the phone, the ROMs use msm7x30 platform. Can someone please explain this to me?

Also, does anyone know the name of chips in vivo. This is a very hard thing to find. For example, the bluetooth is BCM4329.
If no one has this information then it is alright, but I would like to my first question answered.

Thank You.

You should PM Szeszo on this stuff. He is our main developer and has been pretty much our only developer for almost half a year now. He knows this device inside out
6th April 2014, 05:51 AM   |  #3  
poondog's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 11,220
 
13,863 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
100% same chipset as the 7x30 devices, our 8255 is essentially an overclocked 7x30 like on desire z
That's why desire z has same chipset as us

Bcm 4329 is WiFi too, but bcmdhd is used for AOSP and sense 4 which is ported from One V or latest prima

Wikipedia has some good information

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to poondog For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th April 2014, 02:13 PM   |  #4  
szezso's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Budakalász
Thanks Meter: 12,225
 
1,987 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Why is it so important? As poondog said, our CPU just an msm7x30 on higher clock. But we have that CPU's board name, why? Qualcomm knows... Like the MSM8225 and MSM8625Q (dual and quad-core Cortex-A5 CPUs) has msm7x27a board names. Why? Qualcomm knows...

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Express using XDA-Developers app
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to szezso For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2014, 05:13 AM   |  #5  
jackylim's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Thumbs up
Hi everyone, im new here and my incredible s is msm7230 i had root the device and get no problem at all.
And now s KK 4.4. Battery last more then 24 hrs.Thanks to Szezso.

Send from HTC Incredible S-*Vivokat 4.4.2 - TESCO-Minimal kernel 3.6.7 (3.0.86, ION)-Radio- 3831.18.00.28_M
7th April 2014, 06:43 AM   |  #6  
poondog's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 11,220
 
13,863 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Can we just call it Bill for simplicity kthxbye

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
7th April 2014, 08:33 AM   |  #7  
rqmok's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Adelaide
Thanks Meter: 358
 
675 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
OK guys. Thanks for your time.

One last question: Is there a 3.4 kernel for vivo?
7th April 2014, 08:59 AM   |  #8  
poondog's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 11,220
 
13,863 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rqmok

OK guys. Thanks for your time.

One last question: Is there a 3.4 kernel for vivo?

Lol
Nah not a proper one

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
7th April 2014, 11:08 AM   |  #9  
rqmok's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Adelaide
Thanks Meter: 358
 
675 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by poondog

Lol
Nah not a proper one

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Not a proper one? Where can I find its source?
7th April 2014, 11:16 AM   |  #10  
poondog's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 11,220
 
13,863 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rqmok

Not a proper one? Where can I find its source?

Closed source

nah jk it was my april fools joke by the sounds of it you missed out

Just noticed you're an Aussie too, gday

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Incredible S General by ThreadRank