Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Phone boots only to recovery

OP arnon124

5th April 2014, 08:41 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Hey there,
I have installed a new rom,
and after installing everything (I did full wipe) and trying to reboot the system,
the phone is showing the htc logo, but then it just goes right back to recovery mode,
every single time.

Something that may cause the problem - the only way i was able to update to 6.0.4.7 recovery was to install it every time again with fastboot
then to boot into recovery
then it showed me the 5.X.X.X version again
So I do "Reboot system now"
and only then it opens the 6.0.4.7 recovery

maybe because of this everytime I do "reboot system now" it keeps booting my phone into the recovery mode.

how can i fix it?

thank you all very much for reading!
5th April 2014, 09:14 PM   |  #2  
Thant's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sofia
Thanks Meter: 629
 
2,048 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnon124

Hey there,
I have installed a new rom,
and after installing everything (I did full wipe) and trying to reboot the system,
the phone is showing the htc logo, but then it just goes right back to recovery mode,
every single time.

Something that may cause the problem - the only way i was able to update to 6.0.4.7 recovery was to install it every time again with fastboot
then to boot into recovery
then it showed me the 5.X.X.X version again
So I do "Reboot system now"
and only then it opens the 6.0.4.7 recovery

maybe because of this everytime I do "reboot system now" it keeps booting my phone into the recovery mode.

how can i fix it?

thank you all very much for reading!

are you flashed the boot.img from the rom.zip???
5th April 2014, 09:28 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thant

are you flashed the boot.img from the rom.zip???

well I was sure I did, but now when I try to reflash it it says:

sending 'boot'....
FAILED <command write failed <unknown error>>
finished.

what should I do?
6th April 2014, 12:06 AM   |  #4  
lukes91's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere Over The Rainbow
Thanks Meter: 1,128
 
1,965 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnon124

well I was sure I did, but now when I try to reflash it it says:

sending 'boot'....
FAILED <command write failed <unknown error>>
finished.

what should I do?

which is the output of fastboot devices command? is any device listed?
if no device is listes, it might be a fastboot/driver issue on the pc, so you might try to download it/them again...
6th April 2014, 12:03 PM   |  #5  
Thant's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sofia
Thanks Meter: 629
 
2,048 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnon124

well I was sure I did, but now when I try to reflash it it says:

sending 'boot'....
FAILED <command write failed <unknown error>>
finished.

what should I do?

wWitch recovery youy use and witch ROM? Kitkat roms have problem and recovery have problem with drivers and for this you receive problem to flash boot.img now you must to fix the problem with the drivers to flash the boot.img
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes