Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Best Way To Root S4?

OP Aitch

6th April 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
Well I've had my phone for about a year now, so am willing to "risk" Rooting it

I've seen these easy methods but which one is the safest? Which one do you guys use?

OneClickRoot = http://www.oneclickroot.com/phone/ho...ung-galaxy-s4/

KingoApp = http://www.kingoapp.com/

SRSRoot = http://www.srsroot.com/

Has anybody tried the CyanogenMod Installer? = http://beta.download.cyanogenmod.org/install

Also, do I need an unlocked phone to Root properly? I'm with T-Mobile in the UK.
Does Rooting wipe the memory on the phone? Do I need to backup first?
Last edited by Aitch; 6th April 2014 at 08:49 PM.
6th April 2014, 10:52 PM   |  #2  
11calcal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 197
 
1,013 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aitch

Well I've had my phone for about a year now, so am willing to "risk" Rooting it

I've seen these easy methods but which one is the safest? Which one do you guys use?

OneClickRoot = http://www.oneclickroot.com/phone/ho...ung-galaxy-s4/

KingoApp = http://www.kingoapp.com/

SRSRoot = http://www.srsroot.com/

Has anybody tried the CyanogenMod Installer? = http://beta.download.cyanogenmod.org/install

Also, do I need an unlocked phone to Root properly? I'm with T-Mobile in the UK.
Does Rooting wipe the memory on the phone? Do I need to backup first?

I'm not sure about the other ways you have mentioned?
The most popular & effective way I know is Chainfire & no it doesn't matter if your phone is carrier locked or not? Rooting doesn't wipe the memory it just allows you to use things such as titanium backup or to install a custom rom
The Following User Says Thank You to 11calcal For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th April 2014, 10:57 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by 11calcal

I'm not sure about the other ways you have mentioned?
The most popular & effective way I know is Chainfire & no it doesn't matter if your phone is carrier locked or not? Rooting doesn't wipe the memory it just allows you to use things such as titanium backup or to install a custom rom

Thanks dude!

I was hoping to find a quick and easy way of doing it, as I've never Rooted before and would probably screw it up (knowing my luck!)

Do you know anybody who has tried any of the methods I mentioned?
6th April 2014, 11:03 PM   |  #4  
11calcal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 197
 
1,013 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aitch

Thanks dude!

I was hoping to find a quick and easy way of doing it, as I've never Rooted before and would probably screw it up (knowing my luck!)

Do you know anybody who has tried any of the methods I mentioned?

😂 honestly it's a piece of pi$$ to achieve it & if you read the guide it says it only takes 30 seconds (which it does)?
All you need is odin+tar file & put phone in download & that's it, simples
The Following User Says Thank You to 11calcal For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2014, 12:11 AM   |  #5  
Joku1981's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 648
 
2,079 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aitch

Well I've had my phone for about a year now, so am willing to "risk" Rooting it

I've seen these easy methods but which one is the safest? Which one do you guys use?

OneClickRoot = http://www.oneclickroot.com/phone/ho...ung-galaxy-s4/

KingoApp = http://www.kingoapp.com/

SRSRoot = http://www.srsroot.com/

Has anybody tried the CyanogenMod Installer? = http://beta.download.cyanogenmod.org/install

Also, do I need an unlocked phone to Root properly? I'm with T-Mobile in the UK.
Does Rooting wipe the memory on the phone? Do I need to backup first?

Depend of the android u are using. The phone can be rooted without void the warranty (KNOX: 0x0) if u use old booloaders (like android 4.2.2 or android 4.3). If u are using android 4.4.2 better use Cf-Auto-Root of Chainfire
The Following User Says Thank You to Joku1981 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes