Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Locked bootloader , can i downgrade to root.

OP sorvis

6th April 2014, 02:10 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
i recently bought a bell xperia z1, went on to the sony website to unlock bootloader to find that mine is locked, unlike the international version which has an unlockable bootloader.

ive updated it to see if the updates would unlock the bootloader but alas they did not, now im running :

model c6906
android 4.3
build 14.2.A.0.209

Main question :
Will i be able to downgrade and bypass the bootloader?
ive rooted a S2/Htc HD/ Desire Z in the past im just worrying about bricking my phone that ive had for less then a week.

and all other guides ive seen are for different versions, ive heard of flashing the 6903 stuff but that makes me worry way to much.

so pretty much want to know is it possible to do via downgrade to achieve root or should i just wait till a safer method becomes available.

sony bloatware is annoying
6th April 2014, 02:28 AM   |  #2  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 617
 
2,984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Yes, you can get C6906 Rooted with Locked Bootlader. First you have Read a bit more about it, starting with this thread and also watch the Video Tutorial.

You have to use Flashtool v0.9.15 to downgrade to .534 using Rogers FTF for your model from here.

When you are on 4.2.2 FW .534 Root it with Bin4ry Method, then Install Dualrecovery, SuperSU and Upgrade to your favorite latest Android Pre-Rooted, like KitKat Here or JB 4.3 Here.

Done.

Good Luck!
The Following User Says Thank You to eclyptos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th April 2014, 07:13 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Thumbs up
you sir are the man, followed the video and got root, now to find a rom to use.

edit : went to install a rom + gapps and had to do the whole process over again. right from flashing nuts custom. got stuck in a sony logo boot loop. zz

so attempt #2 with a different rom.

edit 2: was able to update to 4.4 kitkat so now i hope i can update my rom. since i was trying to do a 4.4 rom on the 4.3 firmware ?

edit3: nope stuck on sony logo so went back to nuts again... hrmm well atleast i could upate to 4.4 going to try boot to cwm and see if that works
Last edited by sorvis; 6th April 2014 at 09:15 AM.
6th April 2014, 03:19 PM   |  #4  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 617
 
2,984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Before I flashed mine I was reading for weeks, You did in few hours and I think to quickly. If the phone stuck in Boot logo, I think you did something wrong but I don't have the phone with me so I cannot tell.

Now you have to go back to stock, keep pushing Volume UP and Power, 3 vibrations, phone in off, keep pushing volume down and connect to pc in flashmode, flash a Stock FTF for your model from the link I give you. Now you phone should boot. Repeat the process to get Root and be careful.

Remember to Wipe Data, Appslog, Cache, every time you flash a Fresh Installation is recommended.
6th April 2014, 03:21 PM   |  #5  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,520
 
9,988 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos

keep pushing volume down and connect to pc in flashmode, flash a Stock FTF for your model from the link I give you. .

You should not connect the phone to the PC until the PC prompts you after flashtool has prepared the files for flashing
6th April 2014, 03:28 PM   |  #6  
XperienceD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Here =)
Thanks Meter: 2,452
 
7,378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sorvis

since i was trying to do a 4.4 rom on the 4.3 firmware ?

4.4 will need a 4.4 kernel.
6th April 2014, 03:40 PM   |  #7  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 617
 
2,984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

You should not connect the phone to the PC until the PC prompts you after flashtool has prepared the files for flashing

Ok, that is why I saw in Flashtool Disconnect and Connect my device few times but never had a problem. Good to know.
7th April 2014, 01:36 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
i was able to go back and use flash tool to flash nut's ftf

so im on 4.4 kitkat rooted which is good.

but when i flash any custom rom trough any recovery it boot loops im guessing its because locked bootloader.

so im guessing any rom i want to flash has to have 2 parts. The flashing process in recovery and the flashtool flash firmware for that rom.

unless like you said update my kernal

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes