Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] A good custom rom with 3g Mobile Data out of the box?

OP mechz01

7th April 2014, 01:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
I have D710 I'm using a Spring MVNO (ring plus). Is there a custom rom that has mobile 3g data working out of the box? I tried the pacman rom but apparently that doesn't support data and I'm back to stock.

If not can someone tell me a good rom (preferably lightweight, that dosen't have any weird features missing, like the camera doesn't work right or something) + modem I need to flash? I'm pretty new to flashing modems but I'll look into it, thank you. It's been a little frustrating for me looking for a good rom, but maybe I'm making it harder than it needs to be.
Last edited by mechz01; 7th April 2014 at 03:27 AM.
7th April 2014, 04:03 PM   |  #2  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Garrett, IN
Thanks Meter: 28,645
 
15,662 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:

I have D710 I'm using a Spring MVNO (ring plus). Is there a custom rom that has mobile 3g data working out of the box? I tried the pacman rom but apparently that doesn't support data and I'm back to stock.<br />
<br />
If not can someone tell me a good rom (preferably lightweight, that dosen't have any weird features missing, like the camera doesn't work right or something) + modem I need to flash? I'm pretty new to flashing modems but I'll look into it, thank you. It's been a little frustrating for me looking for a good rom, but maybe I'm making it harder than it needs to be.

TouchWiz ROMs will be your most stable and have everything working out of the box. Just flash the modern that corresponds to the build (GB27=GB27 Modem). I recommend Project X v3.9.

The Following User Says Thank You to bilgerryan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2014, 07:20 AM   |  #3  
Linux guy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tucson
Thanks Meter: 198
 
437 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Too true. However touch whiz is a disgrace to this phone. Viluminati is at 4.4.2, has nothing missing (that I know?) And has 3g working. It may have a "call" bug that makes sound choppy when calling someone. That's probably it though.

sent from tumblr
8th April 2014, 10:45 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linux guy

Too true. However touch whiz is a disgrace to this phone. Viluminati is at 4.4.2, has nothing missing (that I know?) And has 3g working. It may have a "call" bug that makes sound choppy when calling someone. That's probably it though.

sent from tumblr

I flashed Project X v3.9...man that's an ugly green theme. I checked out the Viluminati thread, people are reporting too many glitches for my liking.

Anything else?
8th April 2014, 01:19 PM   |  #5  
HighxVoltage's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Only options to get good 3G out of the box are any touchwiz ROMs. Shostock, Touched by GS4

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk
8th April 2014, 06:18 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighxVoltage

Only options to get good 3G out of the box are any touchwiz ROMs. Shostock, Touched by GS4

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk

I'll try Shostock, thanks.
8th April 2014, 06:20 PM   |  #7  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Garrett, IN
Thanks Meter: 28,645
 
15,662 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechz01

I flashed Project X v3.9...man that's an ugly green theme. I checked out the Viluminati thread, people are reporting too many glitches for my liking.

Anything else?

You can change the theme, check out the extras section of the OP

8th April 2014, 06:21 PM   |  #8  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Garrett, IN
Thanks Meter: 28,645
 
15,662 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechz01

I'll try Shostock, thanks.

ShoStock doesn't have MMS or 4G, just to warn you... But it does have MultiWindow

8th April 2014, 06:45 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilgerryan

ShoStock doesn't have MMS or 4G, just to warn you... But it does have MultiWindow

ouch. I'll try the themes on project x, thanks.
9th April 2014, 02:25 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilgerryan

You can change the theme, check out the extras section of the OP

Ok so I downloaded the themes, installed via a file manager, now how do I apply them?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes