Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,137 Members 49,737 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] A good custom rom with 3g Mobile Data out of the box?

Tip us?
 
mechz01
Old
(Last edited by mechz01; 7th April 2014 at 02:27 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default [Q] A good custom rom with 3g Mobile Data out of the box?

I have D710 I'm using a Spring MVNO (ring plus). Is there a custom rom that has mobile 3g data working out of the box? I tried the pacman rom but apparently that doesn't support data and I'm back to stock.

If not can someone tell me a good rom (preferably lightweight, that dosen't have any weird features missing, like the camera doesn't work right or something) + modem I need to flash? I'm pretty new to flashing modems but I'll look into it, thank you. It's been a little frustrating for me looking for a good rom, but maybe I'm making it harder than it needs to be.
 
bilgerryan
Old
#2  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 27,433
Posts: 15,143
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Garrett, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
I have D710 I'm using a Spring MVNO (ring plus). Is there a custom rom that has mobile 3g data working out of the box? I tried the pacman rom but apparently that doesn't support data and I'm back to stock.<br />
<br />
If not can someone tell me a good rom (preferably lightweight, that dosen't have any weird features missing, like the camera doesn't work right or something) + modem I need to flash? I'm pretty new to flashing modems but I'll look into it, thank you. It's been a little frustrating for me looking for a good rom, but maybe I'm making it harder than it needs to be.
TouchWiz ROMs will be your most stable and have everything working out of the box. Just flash the modern that corresponds to the build (GB27=GB27 Modem). I recommend Project X v3.9.

The Following User Says Thank You to bilgerryan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Linux guy
Old
#3  
Linux guy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 176
Posts: 416
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tucson

 
DONATE TO ME
Too true. However touch whiz is a disgrace to this phone. Viluminati is at 4.4.2, has nothing missing (that I know?) And has 3g working. It may have a "call" bug that makes sound choppy when calling someone. That's probably it though.

sent from tumblr
Ask me stuff
I wont know as much as others but I will always reply
 
mechz01
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linux guy View Post
Too true. However touch whiz is a disgrace to this phone. Viluminati is at 4.4.2, has nothing missing (that I know?) And has 3g working. It may have a "call" bug that makes sound choppy when calling someone. That's probably it though.

sent from tumblr
I flashed Project X v3.9...man that's an ugly green theme. I checked out the Viluminati thread, people are reporting too many glitches for my liking.

Anything else?
 
HighxVoltage
Old
#5  
HighxVoltage's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 154
Join Date: Nov 2013
Only options to get good 3G out of the box are any touchwiz ROMs. Shostock, Touched by GS4

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk
 
mechz01
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighxVoltage View Post
Only options to get good 3G out of the box are any touchwiz ROMs. Shostock, Touched by GS4

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk
I'll try Shostock, thanks.
 
bilgerryan
Old
#7  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 27,433
Posts: 15,143
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Garrett, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechz01 View Post
I flashed Project X v3.9...man that's an ugly green theme. I checked out the Viluminati thread, people are reporting too many glitches for my liking.

Anything else?
You can change the theme, check out the extras section of the OP

 
bilgerryan
Old
#8  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 27,433
Posts: 15,143
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Garrett, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechz01 View Post
I'll try Shostock, thanks.
ShoStock doesn't have MMS or 4G, just to warn you... But it does have MultiWindow

 
mechz01
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilgerryan View Post
ShoStock doesn't have MMS or 4G, just to warn you... But it does have MultiWindow

ouch. I'll try the themes on project x, thanks.
 
mechz01
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilgerryan View Post
You can change the theme, check out the extras section of the OP

Ok so I downloaded the themes, installed via a file manager, now how do I apply them?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes