Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more
Post Reply

[Q] Using a GSM phone for a CDMA service?

OP natalie_storm

7th April 2014, 12:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Before I begin, I'm not certain if I'm in the wrong forum but I'll know eventually..

Is it possible, (if so, how) to use a GSM phone for a CDMA service, Sprint to be exact.

all in all, can i use my tmobile galaxy s2 (unlocked) for my new sprint service?
if so, how can i go about doing that?!?!?!?!
7th April 2014, 12:54 AM   |  #2  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 586
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by natalie_storm

Before I begin, I'm not certain if I'm in the wrong forum but I'll know eventually..

Is it possible, (if so, how) to use a GSM phone for a CDMA service, Sprint to be exact.

all in all, can i use my tmobile galaxy s2 (unlocked) for my new sprint service?
if so, how can i go about doing that?!?!?!?!


Is your model T989 ?
7th April 2014, 01:07 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Is your model T989 ?

yes... is that ok?
7th April 2014, 01:18 AM   |  #4  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 586
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Info 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by natalie_storm

yes... is that ok?


These are the supported frequencies:

2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100


Check out here for compatible carrier --> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cellular_frequencies
Last edited by LS.xD; 7th April 2014 at 01:25 AM.
7th April 2014, 02:15 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

These are the supported frequencies:

2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100


Check out here for compatible carrier --> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cellular_frequencies

Soooooooo... I can? I'm not understanding.
7th April 2014, 02:19 AM   |  #6  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 586
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by natalie_storm

Soooooooo... I can? I'm not understanding.



Check out what frequencies the wanted carrier uses in your region

Google helps...
7th April 2014, 02:52 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Check out what frequencies the wanted carrier uses in your region

Google helps...

i googled around a bit and found that Sprint uses the 1900 MHz band for both voice and data service.
7th April 2014, 03:01 AM   |  #8  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 586
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by natalie_storm

i googled around a bit and found that Sprint uses the 1900 MHz band for both voice and data service.

Sprint USA uses MHz
800/1900 for 2g
1900 for 3g
2500 for 4g

Infact you will not be able to make calls if your region uses 800MHz for calls.


Sent from my beloved HTC One S using (most time buggy) Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Questions and Answers by ThreadRank