Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more
Post Reply

[Q] Custom quick nav icons

16th February 2014, 05:37 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
In the past two weeks or so I've tried every method I could find on XDA and elsewhere to modify app icons and names so I could customize my quick nav buttons and make them a unified set after using Nook Touch Mod Manager to assign different apps to them (I know...picky, picky, picky).

Clearly some people have done this. I have not. Can someone who has done it point me in the direction of a tutorial that really works for a noob? I'm trying to change icons and names for market apps, not system apps.
16th February 2014, 08:45 AM   |  #2  
OverByter's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Haven
Thanks Meter: 24
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Have you tried apk edit? If not look here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=890199
OB

Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2
16th February 2014, 03:19 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
I did. In various versions. It either ran continuously (with ADW or GMail apps, for example) or crashed on applying changes (with Opera Mobile, for example). I do have Java (v. 7) and .NET framework (4) installed. Unless I have to roll back to .NET 3.5, I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.

The other thing that occurs to me with APK Edit on re-reading that post is that it seems to assume a real communication to root via USB. Plugging in the Nook ST to my computer probably doesn't supply that kind of access. And I haven't gone through the trial of setting up ADB because I've never had any use for it. If I thought that would help, I'd struggle through that.
Last edited by nmyshkin; 16th February 2014 at 03:29 PM. Reason: afterthought on APK Edit
5th April 2014, 11:55 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
[SOLVED!]
Victory! After being emboldened by successfully modifying the menu background tones in framework-res.apk (thanks to mergen3107 here--post 23) I finally began to understand the post by ladykayaker here--post 83) and...

Ta-da!



Even better, they work
6th April 2014, 09:10 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Astana
Thanks Meter: 5
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
nmyshkin
Wow! That looks very awesome! Accidentally I have installed this tweaker app too.
How did you managed to have the renamed labels of the same font and weight? I mean, for example, mine - 'App Launcher' renamed to 'apps' looks a bit lighter and of the different font.
6th April 2014, 07:47 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Thanks I never would have gotten there if you hadn't helped me with getting the modded framework file back onto the Nook.

When you told me the screen font for the quicknav button icons I looked through my store of fonts and the closest thing I had was Gill Sans MT. To my eye it didn't look quite right. So I kept a stock icon in my editor all the time, side-by-side with the one I was altering. The stock font was a little taller it seemed to me. I ended up using 16 pt. but it still was not quite right, so in the end I replaced the label in the library icon (which is otherwise unchanged) so that everything would match--that was the whole idea to begin with anyway!

I tried to keep things generic enough so that even if I change apps in the background (like I just changed from the frequently malfunctioning GMail to Email) all I have to do is edit settings.db instead of creating a new quicknav icon.

Hmm....maybe that globe need to come down just a tad......
The Following User Says Thank You to nmyshkin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2014, 02:33 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Astana
Thanks Meter: 5
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
OK, thanks for explanation

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nook Touch General by ThreadRank