Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

LG phone preinstalled alarm clock has strange permissions. What's going on?

OP oy-ster

3rd April 2014, 08:43 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hey,
There is this LG LII optimus series phone, it was bought at a physical reputable store, haven't been changed whats so ever (not a single new program was added).

I've just noticed that the alarm clock app that came preinstalled has the following permissions:
-Your personall information- read call logs,read your contacts.
-Network communication-full network access.
-Phone calls- read phone status and identity.
-System tools-
-Network communications- view network communications, wifi connections.
-Development toos- test access to protected storage.
-Hardware controls-
-Run at start up.
- Modify system settings.


My initial reaction was "WTF?", but I'm probably missing something...


So, dear XDA pundits, what gives? Is it something legitimate or NSAFBICIAGCHQLEAOTHERLAWAGENCIESCRIMINALSMARKETERS PRIVATEINVESTIGATORSTINFOILHATPROFILIERS1984 much?


Thanks.
Last edited by oy-ster; 3rd April 2014 at 05:40 PM.
6th April 2014, 10:50 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Thread burried itself deeper than my proctologist so I'm pulling it out.
UP. .
6th April 2014, 11:22 AM   |  #3  
christi9503's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 170
 
315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oy-ster

Thread burried itself deeper than my proctologist so I'm pulling it out.
UP. .

I have the L7 II and i have same permissions as you and they seem normal to me. Only one i don't have is developer one but i think it is just fine.
6th April 2014, 03:46 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Thank you for the response.
By 'normal' I pressume you mean that they are not spying/have the potential to spy on your phone? How do you know that?
Thx.

P.S A friend of mine told me yesterday about the affair with LG's spying tvs which was exposed a month or two ago...In my opinion 'creepy' wouldn't do justice in describing it.
6th April 2014, 05:37 PM   |  #5  
christi9503's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 170
 
315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oy-ster

Thank you for the response.
By 'normal' I pressume you mean that they are not spying/have the potential to spy on your phone? How do you know that?
Thx.

P.S A friend of mine told me yesterday about the affair with LG's spying tvs which was exposed a month or two ago...In my opinion 'creepy' wouldn't do justice in describing it.

If someone wants to spy on your phone they will do that by any means. Anyway every device and electronics you have around you can "spy". I would say do not worry about it.
7th April 2014, 07:51 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
LOL, thats not very reassuring. I was hoping more for an an answer along the lines of "I've checked the internet traffic for the app, and based on its size, frequency and destination it can only be used for so and so..." or "The program size is too small to contain enough commands for both spying and provide its functionality"...

I guess you have a point in the fact that if you are getting bummed you might as well relax and think of England, but... I don't know, I suppose I want to be sure first of what is actually happening, and if indeed it is something bad...Well at the very least maybe I can cry out.

Anyway, thank you!

If some other developer knows why is it like that, I would love to hear.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes