Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more

XDA Partners with LG for Developer Challenge

Many Android enthusiasts know the name LG. LG is the maker of some Google Nexus devices and some … more
Post Reply

LG phone preinstalled alarm clock has strange permissions. What's going on?

3rd April 2014, 07:43 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hey,
There is this LG LII optimus series phone, it was bought at a physical reputable store, haven't been changed whats so ever (not a single new program was added).

I've just noticed that the alarm clock app that came preinstalled has the following permissions:
-Your personall information- read call logs,read your contacts.
-Network communication-full network access.
-Phone calls- read phone status and identity.
-System tools-
-Network communications- view network communications, wifi connections.
-Development toos- test access to protected storage.
-Hardware controls-
-Run at start up.
- Modify system settings.


My initial reaction was "WTF?", but I'm probably missing something...


So, dear XDA pundits, what gives? Is it something legitimate or NSAFBICIAGCHQLEAOTHERLAWAGENCIESCRIMINALSMARKETERS PRIVATEINVESTIGATORSTINFOILHATPROFILIERS1984 much?


Thanks.
Last edited by oy-ster; 3rd April 2014 at 04:40 PM.
6th April 2014, 09:50 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Thread burried itself deeper than my proctologist so I'm pulling it out.
UP. .
6th April 2014, 10:22 AM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 16
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oy-ster

Thread burried itself deeper than my proctologist so I'm pulling it out.
UP. .

I have the L7 II and i have same permissions as you and they seem normal to me. Only one i don't have is developer one but i think it is just fine.
6th April 2014, 02:46 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Thank you for the response.
By 'normal' I pressume you mean that they are not spying/have the potential to spy on your phone? How do you know that?
Thx.

P.S A friend of mine told me yesterday about the affair with LG's spying tvs which was exposed a month or two ago...In my opinion 'creepy' wouldn't do justice in describing it.
6th April 2014, 04:37 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 16
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oy-ster

Thank you for the response.
By 'normal' I pressume you mean that they are not spying/have the potential to spy on your phone? How do you know that?
Thx.

P.S A friend of mine told me yesterday about the affair with LG's spying tvs which was exposed a month or two ago...In my opinion 'creepy' wouldn't do justice in describing it.

If someone wants to spy on your phone they will do that by any means. Anyway every device and electronics you have around you can "spy". I would say do not worry about it.
7th April 2014, 06:51 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
LOL, thats not very reassuring. I was hoping more for an an answer along the lines of "I've checked the internet traffic for the app, and based on its size, frequency and destination it can only be used for so and so..." or "The program size is too small to contain enough commands for both spying and provide its functionality"...

I guess you have a point in the fact that if you are getting bummed you might as well relax and think of England, but... I don't know, I suppose I want to be sure first of what is actually happening, and if indeed it is something bad...Well at the very least maybe I can cry out.

Anyway, thank you!

If some other developer knows why is it like that, I would love to hear.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank