FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] wifi will not turn on

7th April 2014, 10:11 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i have a stock galaxy s3 that won't turn wifi on.

SGH-i747

i've rebooted, reset data to factory, tried cycling airplane mode.

running android 4.1.2, need wifi to update and work in general.

how do i fix this?
 
 
7th April 2014, 02:03 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoffmanbike

i have a stock galaxy s3 that won't turn wifi on.

SGH-i747

i've rebooted, reset data to factory, tried cycling airplane mode.

running android 4.1.2, need wifi to update and work in general.

how do i fix this?

After the factory reset and during the set-up that follows on reboot, does it prompt you to set up a wireless connection? This should usually the second step in the set-up process.
8th April 2014, 12:49 AM |#3  
norbarb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crest Hill
Thanks Meter: 861
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoffmanbike

i have a stock galaxy s3 that won't turn wifi on.

SGH-i747

i've rebooted, reset data to factory, tried cycling airplane mode.

running android 4.1.2, need wifi to update and work in general.

how do i fix this?

Do this :http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1984717
8th April 2014, 01:33 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry2999

After the factory reset and during the set-up that follows on reboot, does it prompt you to set up a wireless connection? This should usually the second step in the set-up process.

yes, and it doesn't turn on there, or if i skip past it and skip the setup to try to do it manually
8th April 2014, 04:01 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i'm good
kies worked, thank you, now to try to get the ota 4.3 update
8th April 2014, 04:41 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoffmanbike

kies worked, thank you, now to try to get the ota 4.3 update

Glad to know your phone is now working normally. If you are on stock 4.1.2 getting 4.3 OTA update should be a breeze. If required, however, I would suggest you take advantage of the flexibilities offered by the lower firmware especially free unlocking before updating to 4.3
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank