FORUMS

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] wifi will not turn on

7th April 2014, 10:11 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i have a stock galaxy s3 that won't turn wifi on.

SGH-i747

i've rebooted, reset data to factory, tried cycling airplane mode.

running android 4.1.2, need wifi to update and work in general.

how do i fix this?
 
 
7th April 2014, 02:03 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoffmanbike

i have a stock galaxy s3 that won't turn wifi on.

SGH-i747

i've rebooted, reset data to factory, tried cycling airplane mode.

running android 4.1.2, need wifi to update and work in general.

how do i fix this?

After the factory reset and during the set-up that follows on reboot, does it prompt you to set up a wireless connection? This should usually the second step in the set-up process.
8th April 2014, 12:49 AM |#3  
norbarb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crest Hill
Thanks Meter: 858
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoffmanbike

i have a stock galaxy s3 that won't turn wifi on.

SGH-i747

i've rebooted, reset data to factory, tried cycling airplane mode.

running android 4.1.2, need wifi to update and work in general.

how do i fix this?

Do this :http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1984717
8th April 2014, 01:33 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry2999

After the factory reset and during the set-up that follows on reboot, does it prompt you to set up a wireless connection? This should usually the second step in the set-up process.

yes, and it doesn't turn on there, or if i skip past it and skip the setup to try to do it manually
8th April 2014, 04:01 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i'm good
kies worked, thank you, now to try to get the ota 4.3 update
8th April 2014, 04:41 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoffmanbike

kies worked, thank you, now to try to get the ota 4.3 update

Glad to know your phone is now working normally. If you are on stock 4.1.2 getting 4.3 OTA update should be a breeze. If required, however, I would suggest you take advantage of the flexibilities offered by the lower firmware especially free unlocking before updating to 4.3
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank