Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more

Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more
Post Reply

[Q] Cannot find the resources to undo this soft brick.

OP outcold32

5th April 2014, 04:18 PM   |  #11  
exad's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,419
 
3,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by outcold32

CM 10.2, CM 11, CLEANrom 7.0. all via fastboot with confirmations.

Why are you flashing roms via fastboot? -_- You're making your life difficult. Wipe everything in TWRP then flash in TWRP. ALso, you should really s-off and update your firmware/hboot. via RUU. You will likely encounter issues running a newer software on an such an old firmware.
Last edited by exad; 5th April 2014 at 04:21 PM.
5th April 2014, 05:44 PM   |  #12  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by exad

Why are you flashing roms via fastboot? -_- You're making your life difficult. Wipe everything in TWRP then flash in TWRP. ALso, you should really s-off and update your firmware/hboot. via RUU. You will likely encounter issues running a newer software on an such an old firmware.



If you would have read the thread, you would have noticed, that I am in bootloop, therefor I cannot access the recovery. And I have to have access to the ROM on my phone in order to flash anything via TWRP so this is moot. My question isn't how to flash roms, it's why am I getting a loop when I am successful on a clean partition and clean flash of both the recovery and ROM? And to me, fastboot is way easier than TWRP. I guess I could get a UART and try to debug the sequence myself, but I have more important things to do than that. I was posting to see if anyone had any similar problems. And this phone is an original model and I haven't really bothered with the security off, since I only wanted to get rid of sense in the first place. It was unlocked well before any commercial unlocker was available for the evita(Literally no stable CM10 at all at the time), so it's a little finicky in the first place. I ran the RUU after I re-locked the bootloader, and I'm at least out of the loop. I'm just going get to a more stable version so that this process will be more streamline when I re do my unlock and stuff.


So I guess the only solution at this point I have for any problem like this is to use the proper RUU. I tried a couple of times with no success, and it seemed the charm was to re lock the bootloader ( Fastboot oem lock) in order to properly and successfully get the RUU to work.
5th April 2014, 05:55 PM   |  #13  
exad's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,419
 
3,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Wth are you even on about? Of course you can access recovery in a bootloop. How are you getting to fastboot without accessing the bootloader? from the bootloader you can access recovery. If recovery isn't loading SCREW flashing a rom, reflash your recovery, 2.7 TWRP preferably. and then boot to recovery, mount your USB, copy the rom and flash it. Recovery is more important than having a ROM.

I know what I am talking about, do you know what you're talking about?

FFS I am trying to help you, there's no reason for you to be an ass. You're having issues BECAUSE you're flashing your rom via fastboot. You cannot flash a rom via fastboot.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to exad For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th April 2014, 06:22 PM   |  #14  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by exad

Wth are you even on about? Of course you can access recovery in a bootloop. How are you getting to fastboot without accessing the bootloader? from the bootloader you can access recovery. If recovery isn't loading SCREW flashing a rom, reflash your recovery, 2.7 TWRP preferably. and then boot to recovery, mount your USB, copy the rom and flash it. Recovery is more important than having a ROM.

I know what I am talking about, do you know what you're talking about?

FFS I am trying to help you, there's no reason for you to be an ass. You're having issues BECAUSE you're flashing your rom via fastboot. You cannot flash a rom via fastboot.


You didn't read the thread. I'm not being an ass. The information is already there.I can not access the recovery at all. That's why I am in in this situation. And again, if you had read the whole thread, or the even the original post, you would know that I cannot access the recovery. The only reason I'm being as detailed as I am is so I don't have to repeat myself, as well as for other people who may encounter this problem. And Yes I know what I am talking about. If I didn't I probably wouldn't have gotten to this point, right?
5th April 2014, 07:44 PM   |  #15  
exad's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,419
 
3,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Okie dokie. No point in arguing. You're right. I'm wrong. Glad it's all working now.

Sent from my One XL using xda app-developers app
5th April 2014, 07:47 PM   |  #16  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 6,797
 
14,106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by outcold32


You didn't read the thread. I'm not being an ass. The information is already there.I can not access the recovery at all. That's why I am in in this situation. And again, if you had read the whole thread, or the even the original post, you would know that I cannot access the recovery. The only reason I'm being as detailed as I am is so I don't have to repeat myself, as well as for other people who may encounter this problem. And Yes I know what I am talking about. If I didn't I probably wouldn't have gotten to this point, right?

Exad is right in saying that the reason you're having problems is because you're attempting to flash ROMs with fastboot. That isn't how it's done. The correct way is to flash your ROM with recovery. You're barking up the wrong tree, not only that but you're arguing with experienced people who are only attempting to help get you out of the mess that you've gotten yourself into. You came here for advice, but there's no point in asking for advice if you're just going to argue and dismiss what you're being told to do.

You said you can't access your ROM so you can't flash anything, that makes absolutely no sense, which leads me to believe you don't really know what you're doing. Get out of the mindset that you need to use fastboot, it's wrong. You're dealing with people who have extensive and intimate knowledge of this device, trust us, we know what we're talking about.

Exactly why can't you access recovery? If you can issue fastboot commands that means you can access your bootloader, if you can access your bootloader that means you can use your volume keys to scroll through the options and the power button to select recovery. What happens when you do that? Exactly which recovery have you flashed to your device? I need to the full filename of the recovery that you've flashed.

Sent from my Evita
7th April 2014, 03:31 PM   |  #17  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,120
 
7,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by outcold32

And this phone is an original model and I haven't really bothered with the security off, since I only wanted to get rid of sense in the first place. It was unlocked well before any commercial unlocker was available for the evita(Literally no stable CM10 at all at the time), so it's a little finicky in the first place.

S-on is a downright dangerous place to be, if the phone is also SuperCID (which is very likely, since its the AT&T variant). exad is right in recommending s-ff, as he is about a good many things.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One X Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank