Post Reply

[Q] Major Issues!!!

8th April 2014, 01:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
I have done all the things in this thread here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2632730

Everything "seemed" fine until I tried using WiFi, I actually have to hit the wifi button and then restart my phone for the wifi to actually work, weird...

Besides that, the phone has just been restarting itself and it's happening more and more. And lately, it's wicked slow with just about everything I try to do... its just super glitchy. So I thought that maybe starting from scratch would be the best way to make things right, and then re-root...

But doing this caused many questions while reading through the forum and I'm hoping that someone can help point me in the right direction...

I guess the most important questions are:
Do I wipe the phone and do a clean install, going back to stock first?
If so, because I have followed the instructions in the link above, what are the exact steps so that I don't brick it?
Should I just buy a new phone?
If I did a clean install and then re-root will it run better than it is now?

I have many more questions but I think answering these first will help out a lot...

Thanks to whoever can help me out...

Android Version 4.3
Baseband Version I605VRUEMJ9
Kernel Version 3.0.31
Build Number JSS15J.I605VRUEMJ9

Edit: I installed the new Dodol Launcher and miraculously my WiFi is working again! So I uninstalled the Nova Launcher... I am happy that I can toggle my wifi settings once again =) But I read something extremely upsetting about 2mins ago in regards to the people with unlimited data which I have, and that is, we cannot use third party apps to tether the hotspot if we did the 4.3 update!!!??? Does anyone know if this is true? I thought that I couldn't tether because my phone is somehow screwed up, not because they blocked me from using it...
Last edited by James Mac; 8th April 2014 at 08:07 PM. Reason: New Info
8th April 2014, 07:47 PM   |  #2  
lacoursiere18's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag LbTs
Thanks Meter: 4,383
 
3,233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Mac

I have done all the things in this thread here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2632730

Everything "seemed" fine until I tried using WiFi, I actually have to hit the wifi button and then restart my phone for the wifi to actually work, weird...

Besides that, the phone has just been restarting itself and it's happening more and more. And lately, it's wicked slow with just about everything I try to do... its just super glitchy. So I thought that maybe starting from scratch would be the best way to make things right, and then re-root...

But doing this caused many questions while reading through the forum and I'm hoping that someone can help point me in the right direction...

I guess the most important questions are:
Do I wipe the phone and do a clean install, going back to stock first?
If so, because I have followed the instructions in the link above, what are the exact steps so that I don't brick it?
Should I just buy a new phone?
If I did a clean install and then re-root will it run better than it is now?

I have many more questions but I think answering these first will help out a lot...

Thanks to whoever can help me out...

Android Version 4.3
Baseband Version I605VRUEMJ9
Kernel Version 3.0.31
Build Number JSS15J.I605VRUEMJ9

I would Odin back to stock.. Just make sure you don't Odin to mj9..BC then you will be locked.. So Odin back to ramc3 and then run casual and reunlock.. Sometimes a clean slate helps.. But it maybe the phone for whatever reason..
Never experienced any issues like that

Sent from my SCH-I605 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to lacoursiere18 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2014, 10:36 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacoursiere18

I would Odin back to stock.. Just make sure you don't Odin to mj9..BC then you will be locked.. So Odin back to ramc3 and then run casual and reunlock.. Sometimes a clean slate helps.. But it maybe the phone for whatever reason..
Never experienced any issues like that


Thanks lacoursiere18!

After I get back to ramc3 and reunlock do you know how can I stop the OTA from popping up and trying to get me to install it? I want to be able to tether a mobile hotspot, so I need to stay on this one (because of the unlimited data), I think...?

On another note (no pun intended), I was starting the backup process and noticed that the phone has 10.3GB of internal storage, but when I add up all the folders it only amounts to 2.24GB! Does that mean that the OS is taking up 8GB!??? It just seems like a bit much and I can't see anything, there were no hidden folders or system files that I could find either... weird...
9th April 2014, 02:10 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
To stop the nag on the update use titanium backup to freeze SDM 1.0
The Following User Says Thank You to TonikJDK For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th April 2014, 05:06 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonikJDK

To stop the nag on the update use titanium backup to freeze SDM 1.0

Thank you thank you thank you! This is awesome, I wish I had figured that out before I upgraded to 4.3 just to find out I couldn't tether lol
12th April 2014, 02:00 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Question Alliance Rom build 25 doesn't see my 64gb memory card
I just went from version 22 to 25 of this Rom following all of the steps in the thread. Now my phone doesn't see my memory card at all. All of my apps apks through titanium backup and my music and pictures are on the card. Please help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-11-20-54-28.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	85.0 KB
ID:	2681084  
12th April 2014, 02:49 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Question Alliance Rom build 25 doesn't see my 64gb memory card
I just went from version 22 to 25 of this Rom following all of the steps in the thread. Now my phone doesn't see my memory card at all. All of my apps apks through titanium backup and my music and pictures are on the card. Please help.
12th April 2014, 04:12 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andoubleuar

I just went from version 22 to 25 of this Rom following all of the steps in the thread. Now my phone doesn't see my memory card at all. All of my apps apks through titanium backup and my music and pictures are on the card. Please help.

How much free space do you still have on the sd card?
12th April 2014, 10:37 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Mac

How much free space do you still have on the sd card?

31.5gb
12th April 2014, 01:08 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andoubleuar

31.5gb

Try backing up your data and then reformat it through your phone settings. If that doesn't work you might want to reflash the ROM. Or go into the settings and remount it that way. But if it worked fine before you flashed the ROM I would reflash....

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes