Post Reply

How To Update N9005 Bootloader?

8th April 2014, 05:21 AM   |  #1  
slackerz_86's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 37
 
270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Hey guys, my n9005 is NC2. But my bootloader is NB1. any idea how to update it to NC2?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th April 2014, 05:47 AM   |  #2  
antique_sonic's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Corner of the earth
Thanks Meter: 1,095
 
2,100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slackerz_86

Hey guys, my n9005 is NC2. But my bootloader is NB1. any idea how to update it to NC2?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Nb1 bootloader is 4.4.2. Why u need to upgrade to nc2 bootloader?

Sent from N7105, DN3 with AGNi kernel.
The Following User Says Thank You to antique_sonic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2014, 05:59 AM   |  #3  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 7,786
 
6,890 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slackerz_86

Hey guys, my n9005 is NC2. But my bootloader is NB1. any idea how to update it to NC2?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Download the bootloader and flash in odin or download the whole stock FW and flash in odin.. Its not rocket science..

Quote:
Originally Posted by antique_sonic

Nb1 bootloader is 4.4.2. Why u need to upgrade to nc2 bootloader?

Sent from N7105, DN3 with AGNi kernel.

Many ppl like to be updated. I used to but since sapple started all their "crapple" ways i stopped updating stuff.. However i was having ALOT of issues with KK so yesterday i updated my modem/bl and then flashed the latest xnote, the problems seem to have been fixed.......For now
The Following User Says Thank You to Khizar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2014, 06:58 AM   |  #4  
slackerz_86's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 37
 
270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by antique_sonic

Nb1 bootloader is 4.4.2. Why u need to upgrade to nc2 bootloader?

Sent from N7105, DN3 with AGNi kernel.

Becoz my firmware is NC2?? LOL!!!

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th April 2014, 07:01 AM   |  #5  
slackerz_86's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 37
 
270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khizar

Download the bootloader and flash in odin or download the whole stock FW and flash in odin.. Its not rocket science..

But i can't seem to find NC2 XSP bootloader file. Anywhere i can get it?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th April 2014, 07:36 AM   |  #6  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 7,786
 
6,890 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slackerz_86

Becoz my firmware is NC2?? LOL!!!

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

You don't HAVE to. I used the very first bootloader on every single FW on JB and had zero issues.





Quote:
Originally Posted by slackerz_86

But i can't seem to find NC2 XSP bootloader file. Anywhere i can get it?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Look in this rom's thread. The dev has posted bootloaders in the OP.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2649176

Sent From My SM-N9005 To All You Wonder Nobodies!!
The Following User Says Thank You to Khizar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2014, 07:59 AM   |  #7  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Waratah
Thanks Meter: 577
 
4,462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Mate, fooling around with the bootloader is an easy way to get a brick...
If it works now, why would you want to play around with something that might completely screw up your toy?
The Following User Says Thank You to ultramag69 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2014, 10:01 AM   |  #8  
slackerz_86's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 37
 
270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultramag69

Mate, fooling around with the bootloader is an easy way to get a brick...
If it works now, why would you want to play around with something that might completely screw up your toy?

Well, o thought i can keep my device update on par. The firmware, the modem and bootloader. My firmware and modem are updated to NC2. but my bootloader is still stuck to NB1. And well i believe so that if i'm on the same version which is 4.4.2, there will be hardly a brick. Correct me if i'm wrong.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th April 2014, 12:12 PM   |  #9  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Waratah
Thanks Meter: 577
 
4,462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by slackerz_86

Well, o thought i can keep my device update on par. The firmware, the modem and bootloader. My firmware and modem are updated to NC2. but my bootloader is still stuck to NB1. And well i believe so that if i'm on the same version which is 4.4.2, there will be hardly a brick. Correct me if i'm wrong.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

If anything goes wrong with a bootloader flash the chance of a recoverable device are in the toilet...
Roms are generally fairly easy to reflash and so to can be recoveries if something goes wrong.
Bootloaders are the 1 thing you don't play with if you don't need to....
Who cares what the bootloader is anyway, as long as the device works which is why you needed to flash them to use Kitkat....
If you decide to go through with updating the bootloader then make DAMN sure the flash file isn't corrupt or you have any problems with the flash. Should be quick but truly those few seconds are a heart stopper, especially if it comes up fail in ODIN....
I have a lovely Samsung galaxy tab 7" paperweight to attest to this....

The Following User Says Thank You to ultramag69 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank