Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

OMG WiFi

OP gospodinwizard

7th April 2014, 07:49 AM   |  #1  
gospodinwizard's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Wi-Fi has gotten really annoying. Works fine on stock and DID work fine on Alliance but now it mysteriously stopped working on anything but the Stock slot on safestrap. Sure I want to fix it but I am truly curious why it stopped working on Alliance when it did before....even a reflash doesn't help.
7th April 2014, 01:14 PM   |  #2  
DigitalMD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 613
 
2,831 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gospodinwizard

Wi-Fi has gotten really annoying. Works fine on stock and DID work fine on Alliance but now it mysteriously stopped working on anything but the Stock slot on safestrap. Sure I want to fix it but I am truly curious why it stopped working on Alliance when it did before....even a reflash doesn't help.

Software is not intermittent. Seeing as how its unique to your device, I'd say its your device or your particular installation. You should check that you have a proper clean installation. Check the tips and posts in the ROM thread you are using.
8th April 2014, 02:59 PM   |  #3  
Mtsprite's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 51
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gospodinwizard

Wi-Fi has gotten really annoying. Works fine on stock and DID work fine on Alliance but now it mysteriously stopped working on anything but the Stock slot on safestrap. Sure I want to fix it but I am truly curious why it stopped working on Alliance when it did before....even a reflash doesn't help.

im not sure if it is the same, but when i had an s4 with safestrap on it i had to flash the kernel modules along with the rom otherwise WIFI and other things would not work. COuld it possibly be something like this?
8th April 2014, 07:22 PM   |  #4  
gospodinwizard's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
You make a good point. I can certainly give that a try again, but I remain a bit confused as to why in the case of Alliance, WiFi used to work but doesn't any more especially because I reflashed from the same zip file of the same SD Card onto the same phone.
8th April 2014, 09:19 PM   |  #5  
landshark68's Avatar
Senior Member
Illinois
Thanks Meter: 587
 
1,037 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gospodinwizard

You make a good point. I can certainly give that a try again, but I remain a bit confused as to why in the case of Alliance, WiFi used to work but doesn't any more especially because I reflashed from the same zip file of the same SD Card onto the same phone.

You have to flash the kernel module every time you do a new flash, even if it is the same ROM. If you didn't flash the kernel module in the same session this last time you flashed Alliance, that would be why your WiFi is not working.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes