Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,503 Members 37,558 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[SOLVED] GPS Doesnt work, 0 satellites in view

Tip us?
 
jst07
Old
(Last edited by jst07; 9th June 2014 at 06:51 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 78
Join Date: May 2010
Default [SOLVED] GPS Doesnt work, 0 satellites in view

Hey, hoping you guys can help me with a problem. I got a LS980 G2 a few months ago and promptly rooted and put PA on it (2/27 build at the time). I'm now on the 3/12 build, and I've noticed that my GPS doesn't work. I'm looking at GPS Test and I'm not getting any satellites in view.

From other posts, it appears that GPS works in PA 4 for other sprint g2s, but mine doesn't work. Does anyone know what might be wrong with it? Thanks!
 
jst07
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 78
Join Date: May 2010
bump...hopefully someone has an idea
 
Mattx94
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Torino
Quote:
Originally Posted by jst07 View Post
bump...hopefully someone has an idea
other times it has always worked well?
 
jst07
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 78
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattx94 View Post
other times it has always worked well?
Unfortunately, in my excitement of getting a new phone I never tested all the features before slapping TWRP and PA on it
 
Mattx94
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Torino
ok ... so the first thing I suggest you download the app from the store that play is called "GPS test", put in an outdoor location and see if it works. If it does not work well you probably have the same problem I've had time ago, and many of whom suffer from G2, or that the GPS antenna is not well contact with the cover, and then the GPS reception is really bad. To fix this you must open the back cover and lift the contact, and ensure that they make contact with the cover.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jst07 View Post
Unfortunately, in my excitement of getting a new phone I never tested all the features before slapping TWRP and PA on it
i'm sorry for my bad english..

LG G2 (D802) : CloudyG3
 
jst07
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 78
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattx94 View Post
ok ... so the first thing I suggest you download the app from the store that play is called "GPS test", put in an outdoor location and see if it works. If it does not work well you probably have the same problem I've had time ago, and many of whom suffer from G2, or that the GPS antenna is not well contact with the cover, and then the GPS reception is really bad. To fix this you must open the back cover and lift the contact, and ensure that they make contact with the cover.
I do have GPS test. When you were experiencing the issue, did you have 0 satellites in view also or just a really bad signal or no GPS lock?
 
Mattx94
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Torino
2-3 satellites with bad quality signal
Quote:
Originally Posted by jst07 View Post
I do have GPS test. When you were experiencing the issue, did you have 0 satellites in view also or just a really bad signal or no GPS lock?
i'm sorry for my bad english..

LG G2 (D802) : CloudyG3
 
jst07
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 78
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattx94 View Post
2-3 satellites with bad quality signal
Cracking it open is definitely an option, although I'm afraid there is something else going on since I get 0 sats. I think i would at least get a few in view with bad quality.
 
jst07
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 78
Join Date: May 2010
Default GPS FIXED

Update on this issue for anyone that searches and finds this thread....

I fixed my GPS. The solution was to restore to stock, and reflash my rom. The interesting thing about this, is it appears that ANYTIME you do a revert to stock (at least using a .tot) you have to get a GPS lock or it will break GPS. I flashed the .tot, got GPS lock, rooted, recovery, and flashed Mahdi and GPS worked. I was having some unrelated issues with Mahdi, so I went back to stock again, did NOT lock GPS, rooted, recovery, and flashed PA. This time GPS did not work again. I repeated this process a third time getting a GPS lock and it works now.


So for anyone having the issue with 0 satellites in view (GPS Test from the play store will tell you), here is the fix for the LS980. Other phones can probably follow a similar process-

1. Flash the ZVC .tot to go back to stock http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2702422
---LS980 ONLY! Other phones have different files to flash
---This will WIPE your SD card, back up files first!

2. Get a GPS lock (GPS Test is handy for this)

3. IORoot to regain root http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=869

4. AutoRec to get TWRP again http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2715496

5. Flash your ROM and you should be golden
The Following User Says Thank You to jst07 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Murtagh92
Old
#10  
Murtagh92's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 270
Join Date: Sep 2010
I want to do the same, I've a D802, where can I take the file to flash the stock rom?

Inviato dal mio GT-P5210 utilizzando Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes