FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

Galaxy S3 wont turn on or charge but connects to the computer

146 posts
Thanks Meter: 6
 
By n023b, Senior Member on 9th April 2014, 12:17 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello, I have an sgh-i747 it was running task650s rom and one day it just randomly shut off. I tried everything and was told to buy a jig to put the phone into download mode. I bought a jig, plugged it in, still nothing. When I plug it into the computer it shows up as QHSUSB_DLOAD #3 (im using a mac).

What should I do next? All I did was plug the jig into the USB but nothing happened.

This is the jig I bought
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/271353549321?...84.m1497.l2649
 
 
9th April 2014, 04:25 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
anyone?
9th April 2014, 04:54 PM |#3  
brianray14's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bradenton
Thanks Meter: 158
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by n023b

Hello, I have an sgh-i747 it was running task650s rom and one day it just randomly shut off. I tried everything and was told to buy a jig to put the phone into download mode. I bought a jig, plugged it in, still nothing. When I plug it into the computer it shows up as QHSUSB_DLOAD #3 (im using a mac).

What should I do next? All I did was plug the jig into the USB but nothing happened.

This is the jig I bought
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/271353549321?...84.m1497.l2649

Is your warranty up? Did you try a different battery? Sounds like a hardware failure. How long were you running tasks650 before the problem occurred? Did you flash the ROM that is specific to AT&T? You could try contacting josh at mobiletechvideos.com. Head to his site and chat with him as he's quite knowledgeable. I don't use a mac so i'd have no idea what that error code means. Sorry i wasn't much help. Good luck
9th April 2014, 06:20 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianray14

Is your warranty up? Did you try a different battery? Sounds like a hardware failure. How long were you running tasks650 before the problem occurred? Did you flash the ROM that is specific to AT&T? You could try contacting josh at mobiletechvideos.com. Head to his site and chat with him as he's quite knowledgeable. I don't use a mac so i'd have no idea what that error code means. Sorry i wasn't much help. Good luck

-Warranty is long gone.
-Yup tried a different battery and a different charger
-I've been running the rom for over 2 years
-Yes it was the correct one
-tHANKS ill give him a try
-I dont think its an error code its just what the device shows up in mac
9th April 2014, 06:23 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
When I plug in the phone without the battery the orange light pops up does that mean its not a charging problem?
9th April 2014, 06:49 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by n023b

When I plug in the phone without the battery the orange light pops up does that mean its not a charging problem?

It does sound like a hardware rather than firmware issue. Did you try another battery in the phone or try the current battery in another device? If it isn't something as simple as a completely dead battery, it could be a short somewhere on the motherboard.
9th April 2014, 08:24 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry2999

It does sound like a hardware rather than firmware issue. Did you try another battery in the phone or try the current battery in another device? If it isn't something as simple as a completely dead battery, it could be a short somewhere on the motherboard.

Yup tried another battery and tried the current battery in another phone and it worked fine.

I did change the sim card reader when I first got the phone like 2 years ago maybe something is shorting out the MB now I'll check it out
9th April 2014, 08:41 PM |#8  
brianray14's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bradenton
Thanks Meter: 158
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by n023b

Yup tried another battery and tried the current battery in another phone and it worked fine.

I did change the sim card reader when I first got the phone like 2 years ago maybe something is shorting out the MB now I'll check it out

I just got my phone back from Josh. My power button was shorted on the board so he fixed me right up. The symptoms on my phone were it would get to Samsung screen and subsequently power off. Same in DL mode so it could very well be that your power button is shorted in a manner which it just won't power on at all. Hopefully that's all it is. 40 bucks and you're back up and running

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
9th April 2014, 10:34 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianray14

I just got my phone back from Josh. My power button was shorted on the board so he fixed me right up. The symptoms on my phone were it would get to Samsung screen and subsequently power off. Same in DL mode so it could very well be that your power button is shorted in a manner which it just won't power on at all. Hopefully that's all it is. 40 bucks and you're back up and running

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

Thanks but I think I'll just sell it for parts/not working I have a nexus 5 now and don't want to go through the hassle of having it fixed
9th April 2014, 11:49 PM |#10  
brianray14's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bradenton
Thanks Meter: 158
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by n023b

Thanks but I think I'll just sell it for parts/not working I have a nexus 5 now and don't want to go through the hassle of having it fixed

I'm thinking about getting away from Samsung next go around and thinking about the nexus. What do you think? You like nexus better than s3?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes