Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more
Post Reply

My Verizon asking for root?!

OP izzaeroth

9th April 2014, 12:39 AM   |  #1  
izzaeroth's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
306 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Has anybody's my Verizon app asked for super user access? Mine did for some reason... Declined of course, but it was still weird


Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th April 2014, 12:46 AM   |  #2  
izzaeroth's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
306 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Screenshot

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1397000776288.jpg
Views:	269
Size:	37.0 KB
ID:	2675873  
9th April 2014, 12:47 AM   |  #3  
BFirebird101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 137
 
769 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Close the app, reset the permission in SU, open the Verizon app and if it does it again, take a screen shot and put it up here. I would have to see proof. If Verizon is doing that, then Idk maneeeee, that sounds fuked up.

Edit: you did it! Ahhhh mannnn in on thread of the year....

In b4 NSA

This is all I could find.
http://m.androidcentral.com/my-veriz...ew-permissions

Sent from my HTC One M8!
U WOT M8?
Last edited by BFirebird101; 9th April 2014 at 12:52 AM.
9th April 2014, 12:56 AM   |  #4  
izzaeroth's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
306 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Here's timeframe

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1397001357979.jpg
Views:	236
Size:	50.8 KB
ID:	2675878  
9th April 2014, 01:20 AM   |  #5  
BFirebird101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 137
 
769 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Yep, I just updated it from the Play Store, and then it asked WITHOUT me even opening the app.


Sent from my HTC One M8!
U WOT M8?
9th April 2014, 03:00 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Casper
Thanks Meter: 87
 
459 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFirebird101

Yep, I just updated it from the Play Store, and then it asked WITHOUT me even opening the app.


Sent from my HTC One M8!
U WOT M8?

There was a discussion about this in the s4 forums a while back. Just say no, or change the setting supersu to deny if you're really unsure. Personally, I don't care... They won't look at anything anyway.

M8, nuff said.
9th April 2014, 05:54 AM   |  #7  
David 617's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 242
 
573 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Who needs the NSA when you have Verizon...

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to David 617 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th April 2014, 02:18 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
I'm so used to giving everything root access that I hit okay. Then immediately realized what I just did and freaked out. lol
9th April 2014, 03:43 PM   |  #9  
pjim's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 91
 
358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihierbal

I'm so used to giving everything root access that I hit okay. Then immediately realized what I just did and freaked out. lol

I'm convinced that they are fishing for the number of rooted devices. It doesn't matter whether you grant it root or not. They want to know who is rooted. If it can ask for SU, it can report back that you have it and are rooted.
What I am more concerned with is why they want to know!
The Following User Says Thank You to pjim For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th April 2014, 06:37 PM   |  #10  
Account currently disabled
Flag Dhaka
Thanks Meter: 23
 
384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I just updated it from the Play Store, and then it asked WITHOUT me even opening the app.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes