Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more
Post Reply

[HELP!] RUU Botched and stuck with boot loop/load screen

OP ragnsep

9th April 2014, 03:02 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Hey All,

To get things started I was just looking to root/rom my friends phone to get him the wifi hotspot among some other goodies associated with custom roms. I have a good amount of experience regarding flashing, rooting, command line, etc.. I change my S4 rom weekly, and have had some experience with HTC recoveries dating back to my old, old, (OLD) HTC Apache (Yeah that was windows mobile 5). More recently I've worked with a HTC EVO.

Here's where I stand with this HTC EVO 4g LTE.

I originally tried to flash a RUU that was 'one click' thinking that it would be similar to the 1-Click Root and Recovery found for Samsung Devices, I was wrong. I know now that I needed S-OFF for this particular file and well, things didnt go well. The RUU froze (guessing because of the security reasons).

So the device now only boots to the HTC Splash indefinately or I can get it into the bootloader.

In an attempt to road of recovery, I have:
Installed TWRP v2.6.1.0 - Leaving **TAMPERED**, (I suspect)
HTCDev unlocked - Leaving **UNLOCKED**

I'd be happy to just get this thing to boot stock rom, from there I think I can S-OFF and get a custom rom on. But one step at at time.

I've tried running RUU_JEWEL_CL_JB_45_S_Sprint_WWE_3.17.651.4_Radio_1 .13.11.0830_NV_3.02_003_PRL25007_release_334470_si gned.zip as an attempt to recover stock, I've read reports that I might need to relock the phone to get this to work. Is this true?

I've read and read and read and tried and tried to no avail, just looking for a little pointer to get me in the right direction.

Included is my fastboot getvar all:

Code:
< waiting for device >
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 2.10.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 1.13.11.0830
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 3.17.651.4
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: HT27FS401770
(bootloader) imei: 990000667854337
(bootloader) product: jewel
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8960
(bootloader) modelid: PJ7510000
(bootloader) cidnum: SPCS_001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 3845mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-b28ce9b8
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
Thank you so much in advance for any advice or guidance.
9th April 2014, 03:16 AM   |  #2  
Evolution_Freak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East Stroudsburg
Thanks Meter: 396
 
721 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragnsep

Hey All,

To get things started I was just looking to root/rom my friends phone to get him the wifi hotspot among some other goodies associated with custom roms. I have a good amount of experience regarding flashing, rooting, command line, etc.. I change my S4 rom weekly, and have had some experience with HTC recoveries dating back to my old, old, (OLD) HTC Apache (Yeah that was windows mobile 5). More recently I've worked with a HTC EVO.

Here's where I stand with this HTC EVO 4g LTE.

I originally tried to flash a RUU that was 'one click' thinking that it would be similar to the 1-Click Root and Recovery found for Samsung Devices, I was wrong. I know now that I needed S-OFF for this particular file and well, things didnt go well. The RUU froze (guessing because of the security reasons).

So the device now only boots to the HTC Splash indefinately or I can get it into the bootloader.

In an attempt to road of recovery, I have:
Installed TWRP v2.6.1.0 - Leaving **TAMPERED**, (I suspect)
HTCDev unlocked - Leaving **UNLOCKED**

I'd be happy to just get this thing to boot stock rom, from there I think I can S-OFF and get a custom rom on. But one step at at time.

I've tried running RUU_JEWEL_CL_JB_45_S_Sprint_WWE_3.17.651.4_Radio_1 .13.11.0830_NV_3.02_003_PRL25007_release_334470_si gned.zip as an attempt to recover stock, I've read reports that I might need to relock the phone to get this to work. Is this true?

I've read and read and read and tried and tried to no avail, just looking for a little pointer to get me in the right direction.

Included is my fastboot getvar all:

Code:
< waiting for device >
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 2.10.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 1.13.11.0830
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 3.17.651.4
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: HT27FS401770
(bootloader) imei: 990000667854337
(bootloader) product: jewel
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8960
(bootloader) modelid: PJ7510000
(bootloader) cidnum: SPCS_001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 3845mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-b28ce9b8
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
Thank you so much in advance for any advice or guidance.

Yes, relock the bootloader and try the official RUU again. fastboot oem lock.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th April 2014, 03:36 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
I get [Error 158] IMAGE ERROR after **RELOCKING** the bootloader. Do I need any firmware zips on my sdcard renamed to P175xxx or whatever is specified for other RUUs?
9th April 2014, 03:49 AM   |  #4  
Evolution_Freak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East Stroudsburg
Thanks Meter: 396
 
721 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragnsep

I get [Error 158] IMAGE ERROR after **RELOCKING** the bootloader. Do I need any firmware zips on my sdcard renamed to P175xxx or whatever is specified for other RUUs?

Try running the RUU found here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2653730

Bottom of the first post, is the most recent HTC RUU.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Last edited by Evolution_Freak; 9th April 2014 at 03:51 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Evolution_Freak For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th April 2014, 06:31 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evolution_Freak

Try running the RUU found here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2653730

Bottom of the first post, is the most recent HTC RUU.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thanks, I noticed this is a different image version...

Out of curiosity, was the partition table on this RUU very different from the previous one? And was that the issue?
9th April 2014, 10:59 AM   |  #6  
Evolution_Freak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East Stroudsburg
Thanks Meter: 396
 
721 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragnsep

Thanks, I noticed this is a different image version...

Out of curiosity, was the partition table on this RUU very different from the previous one? And was that the issue?

This one has the partition set up the way it should have been from the start. More space internal for apps and such. Did it work?

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
10th April 2014, 12:12 AM   |  #7  
markb629's Avatar
Member
Flag Fall River
Thanks Meter: 34
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Have you tried flashing a custom recovery then flashing a sense Rom (you're on 3.17 so anything based on that or 3.16 will be compatible with the version your log says you're on)? If that works then at least you can go for s off before trying anything else.

Sent from my 831C using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes