Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,734 Members 42,807 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Loosing my mind...

Tip us?
 
N0VIX
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Loosing my mind...

Hey folks, I'm totally new to this stuff but have been force into it by a "friend" who let someone mess with my phone that I left behind one day. Anyways after reading up on things here and trying a couple things I'm still at a loss as how to get my phone back to stock. I've tried Odin with new .Tar files(I337MVLUFNC1_I337MOYAFNC1_RWC) which got everything back and running but after that I'm honestly worried to do anything else that might really screw the phone up. I'm really sorry I'm so noob at this but I was forced into it like I said. When I'm in download mode this is what is at the top left

Odin Mode
Product Name: SGH-i337m
Current Binary: Custom
System Status: Custom
CSB-Config-LSB: 0x30
Write Protection mode: Enabled

How bad is this and how can I get this back to "stock" or what it should read? Did he install a custom Rom/Kernel.... I really feel like an idiot asking this stuff ... I usually try and do it on my own but I'm lost here.

Thanks in advance for your understanding and respect, I would never ask if I knew what to do!

Peace
 
Android300ZX
Old
#2  
Android300ZX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 192
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hackensack, NJ

 
DONATE TO ME
If you restored it with ODIN you're fine. I think you're over exaggerating a bit.
 
jd1639
Old
#3  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,333
Posts: 9,780
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
I agree, if Odin worked you should be back to stock.

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
N0VIX
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Aug 2013
Like I said it seems to be back to stock, except for those "custom" denotations, which I'm not sure what they mean. Also I can't get onto my LTE/3g data anymore. I read somewhere about changing the provider code via a play store app, so I'm hoping that will fix it. If not is there something to do with a .pit file that could have made it so I can't use my data LTE/3G?

Thanks
 
jd1639
Old
#5  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,333
Posts: 9,780
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by N0VIX View Post
Like I said it seems to be back to stock, except for those "custom" denotations, which I'm not sure what they mean. Also I can't get onto my LTE/3g data anymore. I read somewhere about changing the provider code via a play store app, so I'm hoping that will fix it. If not is there something to do with a .pit file that could have made it so I can't use my data LTE/3G?

Thanks
For your lte/3g issue I would start by checking you apn. Settings, wireless& network, more, mobile networks, access point names. Google your carriers apn settings and see if they match. If they don't, edit what you have

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
N0VIX
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
For your lte/3g issue I would start by checking you apn. Settings, wireless& network, more, mobile networks, access point names. Google your carriers apn settings and see if they match. If they don't, edit what you have

Sent from my Nexus 5
Totally correct my friend, apparently there is a "bug" that when updating the firmware you loose all the APN info it goes completely blank. Looks like I'm back to 100%.

As a side note though the I337MVLUFNC1_I337MOYAFNC1_I337MVLUFNC1_HOME.tar.md 5 file you get from Samsung firmware that is noted as RVC (Rogers) actually installs as Bell (BMC). As I checked the CSC info as well as it had a couple Bell bloat ware apps.

Thanks for the help folks !!!

Peace
 
DeadlySin9
Old
#7  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 625
Posts: 1,248
Join Date: Sep 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by N0VIX View Post
Totally correct my friend, apparently there is a "bug" that when updating the firmware you loose all the APN info it goes completely blank. Looks like I'm back to 100%.

As a side note though the I337MVLUFNC1_I337MOYAFNC1_I337MVLUFNC1_HOME.tar.md 5 file you get from Samsung firmware that is noted as RVC (Rogers) actually installs as Bell (BMC). As I checked the CSC info as well as it had a couple Bell bloat ware apps.

Thanks for the help folks !!!

Peace
Just so you know, all I337m's use those same firmware packages but there's just different carrier bloat and not every carrier puts out the package with bloat. As long as you change the csc to your carrier afterwards it's no big deal, and I don't know if it really affects anything even if you don't.
Current Device: ATT Samsung Galaxy S4 (i337)

Past Devices:
Droid Bionic (GSM Hacked)
HTC Inspire 4G (Desire HD)
Nexus One
Motorola Backflip
HTC Dev Phone 1 (Dream/G1)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more

XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: DonkeyGuard, Don’t Be a Donkey, Control Your Device – XDA Developer TV

Some applications ask for the world … more