FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

[Q] Reverting back to stock ROM

6 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Jakuzure, Junior Member on 7th April 2014, 10:18 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey guys, I've been using the HTC One and I've run into some troubles, someone else had this phone previously so I'm not very aware on what this phone is running.

The phone is unable to do any software updates which I believe it is because it is running a different/custom rom?
On the bootloader screen the phone is tampered and unlocked with S-on.
I don't really need for it to be COMPLETELY reverted back to factory settings, I just want the phone to be updatable and have the ability to install custom roms like Cyanogen.
How would I go about doing this?


Also want to add that I am very very new to this and have looked at a lot of things without really getting it all...
Thanks
Last edited by Jakuzure; 7th April 2014 at 10:24 AM. Reason: Adding info
 
 
7th April 2014, 03:15 PM |#2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,889
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakuzure

Hey guys, I've been using the HTC One and I've run into some troubles, someone else had this phone previously so I'm not very aware on what this phone is running.

The phone is unable to do any software updates which I believe it is because it is running a different/custom rom?
On the bootloader screen the phone is tampered and unlocked with S-on.
I don't really need for it to be COMPLETELY reverted back to factory settings, I just want the phone to be updatable and have the ability to install custom roms like Cyanogen.
How would I go about doing this?


Also want to add that I am very very new to this and have looked at a lot of things without really getting it all...
Thanks

Well as the saying goes "You can't have your cake and eat it too"

If you want the stock phone that will do OTA updates you can't flash custom roms. If you want to flash custom Roms you can't take OTA updates ... so which do you choose ?
8th April 2014, 08:52 AM |#3  
Jakuzure's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Revert
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

Well as the saying goes "You can't have your cake and eat it too"

If you want the stock phone that will do OTA updates you can't flash custom roms. If you want to flash custom Roms you can't take OTA updates ... so which do you choose ?

I want the phone to be stock as it's on some altered stock rom that I'm not aware of...
8th April 2014, 10:54 AM |#4  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,889
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakuzure

I want the phone to be stock as it's on some altered stock rom that I'm not aware of...

OK then we need more information do you have fastboot and adb setup on your PC ? If yes please post the results from fastboot getvar all - minus your serial no and IMEI. From their we can locate you a RUU to return the phone to Stock.
9th April 2014, 10:04 AM |#5  
Jakuzure's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

OK then we need more information do you have fastboot and adb setup on your PC ? If yes please post the results from fastboot getvar all - minus your serial no and IMEI. From their we can locate you a RUU to return the phone to Stock.

I have them both set up from this, running that command just gives me a "< waiting for device >" message that doesn't appear to change.
9th April 2014, 03:21 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 107
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakuzure

I have them both set up from this, running that command just gives me a "< waiting for device >" message that doesn't appear to change.

Let me guess: You're on Windows 8.1 and you've never installed any OTA's after 4.2.2
If that's the issue, you have two solutions:
1) Use a Windows 7 PC
2) Update your HBOOT to 1.55/1.56
10th April 2014, 10:40 AM |#7  
Jakuzure's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raghav kapur

Let me guess: You're on Windows 8.1 and you've never installed any OTA's after 4.2.2
If that's the issue, you have two solutions:
1) Use a Windows 7 PC
2) Update your HBOOT to 1.55/1.56

Nope...? I'm on Windows 7 Home Premium, 64-bit
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes