Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Might have soft bricked my phone...

OP LVMickey

8th April 2014, 06:11 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Today I tried flashing CM 11 onto my S4. I have it rooted and I have safestrap loaded onto it. When I went into safestrap to flash it I also queued up GApps Aroma not realizing that it would run that before it would reboot for CM 11. Now my phone is stuck at the "Samsung GALAXY S4" screen and won't continue. When I connect it to my computer it makes a tone that registers it connecting but it doesn't show up in My Computer.

Does anyone have any ideas on what I can do to unbrick or restore it to factory?

Thank you,
Mik
8th April 2014, 06:14 AM   |  #2  
seedeh's Avatar
Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 16
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Go into download mode. Odin back to stock.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
8th April 2014, 06:18 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
What do you mean by download mode?
8th April 2014, 07:01 AM   |  #4  
seedeh's Avatar
Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 16
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Down volume button + power button.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 05:01 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:53 AM ----------

Download stuffs from sammobile

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
8th April 2014, 02:29 PM   |  #5  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,936
 
11,267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LVMickey

Today I tried flashing CM 11 onto my S4. I have it rooted and I have safestrap loaded onto it. When I went into safestrap to flash it I also queued up GApps Aroma not realizing that it would run that before it would reboot for CM 11. Now my phone is stuck at the "Samsung GALAXY S4" screen and won't continue. When I connect it to my computer it makes a tone that registers it connecting but it doesn't show up in My Computer.

Does anyone have any ideas on what I can do to unbrick or restore it to factory?

Thank you,
Mik

Cm will not work in ss. You'll have to use only tw based roms. What firmware are you on? There are tar files in the general forum for that firmware which you'll have to flash in Odin. Sammobile will not have those tar files for you.

Sent from my Nexus 5
8th April 2014, 02:54 PM   |  #6  
seedeh's Avatar
Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 16
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Oh yeah sammobile only has the ROMs sorry I forgot.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
8th April 2014, 02:57 PM   |  #7  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,936
 
11,267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by seedeh

Oh yeah sammobile only has the ROMs sorry I forgot.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk

Sammobile has firmware for many Samsung devices. It just doesn't have anything newer than mdl for the i337.

Sent from my Nexus 5
10th April 2014, 06:02 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Cm will not work in ss. You'll have to use only tw based roms. What firmware are you on? There are tar files in the general forum for that firmware which you'll have to flash in Odin. Sammobile will not have those tar files for you.

Sent from my Nexus 5

Alright done a bit of reading like you said but I still have a question. From what I read Gapps wont work with SS since it is CM based. But is there something similar to it that I can use to get rid of bloatware? Or do most of the ROMs not have that kind of stuff in them?
10th April 2014, 02:08 PM   |  #9  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,936
 
11,267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LVMickey

Alright done a bit of reading like you said but I still have a question. From what I read Gapps wont work with SS since it is CM based. But is there something similar to it that I can use to get rid of bloatware? Or do most of the ROMs not have that kind of stuff in them?

Most roms don't have all the bloat. Use titaniumbackup to freeze any bloat you don't want.

Sent from my Nexus 5

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes