Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more
Post Reply

[Q] How to configure student wifi proxy for apps

OP Dhaval Bhatt

9th April 2014, 09:52 AM   |  #1  
Dhaval Bhatt's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Vadodara
Thanks Meter: 8
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Hey,
I wanted to know if there is a method for changing the proxy setting s for various apps in my phone to the same as the wifi proxy.
Thanks.
9th April 2014, 01:17 PM   |  #2  
QualQuek's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 62
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhaval Bhatt

Hey,
I wanted to know if there is a method for changing the proxy setting s for various apps in my phone to the same as the wifi proxy.
Thanks.

What you want to do exactly? Bypass the proxy?
10th April 2014, 09:51 AM   |  #3  
Dhaval Bhatt's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Vadodara
Thanks Meter: 8
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by QualQuek

What you want to do exactly? Bypass the proxy?

No.I want to use the proxy for my apps.For eg playstore can be accessed from browser but not app because the proxy is not configured.
10th April 2014, 09:56 AM   |  #4  
QualQuek's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 62
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhaval Bhatt

No.I want to use the proxy for my apps.For eg playstore can be accessed from browser but not app because the proxy is not configured.

What are you talking about
What proxy are you using? It's an app your installed? Proxies are for browser usually i don't understand why you're talking about app and proxy that doesn't work together.
Can you tell me more about what you try to do?
10th April 2014, 09:59 AM   |  #5  
Dhaval Bhatt's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Vadodara
Thanks Meter: 8
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by QualQuek

What are you talking about
What proxy are you using? It's an app your installed? Proxies are for browser usually i don't understand why you're talking about app and proxy that doesn't work together.
Can you tell me more about what you try to do?

exactly that.WHy cant i open the same thing as an app which i can in a browser
10th April 2014, 10:02 AM   |  #6  
Ahki767's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag CAT
Thanks Meter: 130
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhaval Bhatt

exactly that.WHy cant i open the same thing as an app which i can in a browser

You can't connect to the play store app?
10th April 2014, 10:04 AM   |  #7  
Dhaval Bhatt's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Vadodara
Thanks Meter: 8
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ahki767

You can't connect to the play store app?

no becoz the wifi uses a proxy and only thru dat internet can be accessed.
10th April 2014, 10:06 AM   |  #8  
Ahki767's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag CAT
Thanks Meter: 130
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhaval Bhatt

no becoz the wifi uses a proxy and only thru dat internet can be accessed.

So you're trying to say that only the browser works and all other apps have no internet access?? Facebook and stuff?

Edit: Finally understood the situation, if you're using the schools wifi and they blocked apps to work (my college wifi does that too), the only way to get it to work is if they unblock it themselves. That's why you should get a data plan lol
Last edited by Ahki767; 10th April 2014 at 10:47 AM.
10th April 2014, 10:43 AM   |  #9  
QualQuek's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 62
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhaval Bhatt

no becoz the wifi uses a proxy and only thru dat internet can be accessed.

Haha! Here we are! You're trying to bypass the security proxy of the wifi
If it's your wifi desactivate it, if you're in public place or school, you're *****ed
10th April 2014, 02:03 PM   |  #10  
xXFlippyXx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Is VPN an option for you? Sounds like deep packet inspection to me. If you'd use VPN your whole traffic will be encrypted. So no dpi to look in your traffic

Sent from Xperia Z1

The Following User Says Thank You to xXFlippyXx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Z1 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank