Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,675 Members 46,809 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

GPS Lock issues?

Tip us?
 
viper786
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 362
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canton, MI
Default GPS Lock issues?

Anyone else have in issue on stock kitkat where GPS randomly loses its lock? I had an S4 before I got this phone and I could have it in my lap while driving and it be perfectly fine, but with the Note 3, if I have the phone in my lap while driving, it'll lose GPS lock after a while and i have to hold the phone up to get a GPS lock again.

Anyone else have this issue?
The Following User Says Thank You to viper786 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Compusmurf
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 1,008
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper786 View Post
Anyone else have in issue on stock kitkat where GPS randomly loses its lock? I had an S4 before I got this phone and I could have it in my lap while driving and it be perfectly fine, but with the Note 3, if I have the phone in my lap while driving, it'll lose GPS lock after a while and i have to hold the phone up to get a GPS lock again.

Anyone else have this issue?

I've had multiple Note 3's through various carriers and my wife has one as well. None of the Note 3 models have ever had "the strongest" gps. The S3 I had and the Note 2 I had in the past had far better GPS accuracy.

I'm not letting it worry me, I intend to "jump" for the Note 4 when it comes out.
__________________
Current Phone: TMobile Galaxy Note III
ROM: Rooted "stock" NF1 kitkat
Current Tablet: Nexus 7 (Rooted stock)/Microsoft Surface Pro 2
 
viper786
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 362
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canton, MI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compusmurf View Post
I've had multiple Note 3's through various carriers and my wife has one as well. None of the Note 3 models have ever had "the strongest" gps. The S3 I had and the Note 2 I had in the past had far better GPS accuracy.

I'm not letting it worry me, I intend to "jump" for the Note 4 when it comes out.
My S4 had awesome GPS locks. I could be in the middle of my house and get an accurate lock. My Note 3 can barely hold a lock unless i'm holding it up against my window or windshield. Looks like it's time to invest in a dashboard mount.
 
deeznutz1977
Old
#4  
deeznutz1977's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2633
Posts: 3,748
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: cHARMcity,MD
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...=by.zatta.agps

Usually get between 10 and 18 foot accuracy in 10 seconds or less.

Sent from my bad ass Kryon infused Note 3
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1397092118354.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	134.4 KB
ID:	2677769  
 
Compusmurf
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 1,008
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeznutz1977 View Post
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...=by.zatta.agps

Usually get between 10 and 18 foot accuracy in 10 seconds or less.

Sent from my bad ass Kryon infused Note 3
I've used TOP NTP quite a few times. I've never once gotten a better than 32ft accuracy.

What settings did you use?
__________________
Current Phone: TMobile Galaxy Note III
ROM: Rooted "stock" NF1 kitkat
Current Tablet: Nexus 7 (Rooted stock)/Microsoft Surface Pro 2
 
deeznutz1977
Old
#6  
deeznutz1977's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2633
Posts: 3,748
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: cHARMcity,MD
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compusmurf View Post
I've used TOP NTP quite a few times. I've never once gotten a better than 32ft accuracy.

What settings did you use?
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1397141011353.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	128.1 KB
ID:	2678645

Leave the default settings in top ntp

Sent from my bad ass Kryon infused Note 3
 
viper786
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 362
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canton, MI
Unfortunately, I'm not rooted. I just got the phone so it came with KitKat and I don't want to trip Knox

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...