Firefox OS Architecture and Collaboration Opportunities w/ Asa Dotzler – XDA:DevCon 2014

We were privileged to host many presentations … more

Unofficial Android 4.4 Lands on Three Mediatek Devices

For the last few years, devices with MTK systems-on-chip haven’t received much … more

MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Need help in identifying a compatible rom

OP ceo.mtcl

9th April 2014, 06:55 PM   |  #1  
ceo.mtcl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag St. Paul, MN
Thanks Meter: 414
 
2,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
I have AT&T flavor of m8. I have heard that people are flashing roms from international versions to AT&T versions. Something like this used to be a big no no.

1. Can someone please help me in identifying how is this possible?

2. Which ROMs from this m8 forum can I install on my AT&T version?

I'm S_offed.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
9th April 2014, 08:00 PM   |  #2  
I have the att m8 which I converted fully to gpe...can't go back to sense till ruu's become available later if I wanted to...anyway the reason international Roms work is because the att version is pretty much the same hardware as international/gpe... Any ROM from the international side will work... Before I did the ruu gpe conversion...I ran viper arhd insert coin virtuous renovate on my att m8 with no issues.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
10th April 2014, 11:06 AM   |  #3  
ceo.mtcl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag St. Paul, MN
Thanks Meter: 414
 
2,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Ok, I really want to try a few roms from international section. Is there any rom that I have to avoid?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
10th April 2014, 08:00 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 11
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
As you are s-off, could you not update your cid and firmware? Then you are free to flash any rom.

I'm not really clued up on carrier branded phones through so I could be mistaken.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
11th April 2014, 12:49 AM   |  #5  
ceo.mtcl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag St. Paul, MN
Thanks Meter: 414
 
2,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by duvall87

As you are s-off, could you not update your cid and firmware? Then you are free to flash any rom.

I'm not really clued up on carrier branded phones through so I could be mistaken.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I was wondering if modem or any driver component meant for specific version of hardware is included in Rom, and I flash it over to AT&T version, then will it not be a problem? But I think it really not is an issue.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
11th April 2014, 02:12 AM   |  #6  
CID/MID has nothing to do with roms, the only time this comes into play is if you are trying to OTA or RUU back to stock, RUU and OTA check the CID/MID and determine whether or not the model is compatible with that particular OTA/RUU... As for modems, generally roms do not include radios/basebands, most roms are just system/boot, if a radio is included it is more then likely stated in the Devs OP, also with S-Off its easy enough to fix radio issues should you run into this. As I said the ATT variant is based off the international and gpe variant hence any rom will work.
11th April 2014, 04:16 AM   |  #7  
an0ther's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 217
 
594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
You don't need to update the firmware. You can flash any gsm Rom. They pretty much all have the att apn but if not just manually input it.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes