Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,783,072 Members 45,067 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Need help in identifying a compatible rom

Tip us?
 
ceo.mtcl
Old
#1  
ceo.mtcl's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 410
Posts: 2,125
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Default Need help in identifying a compatible rom

I have AT&T flavor of m8. I have heard that people are flashing roms from international versions to AT&T versions. Something like this used to be a big no no.

1. Can someone please help me in identifying how is this possible?

2. Which ROMs from this m8 forum can I install on my AT&T version?

I'm S_offed.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Current Phones:
๑۩۞۩๑ LG G2 AT&T ๑۩۞۩๑

Benefits of International Samsung Galaxy S3 for US (AT&T) users
 
djkinetic
Old
#2  
djkinetic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,025
Posts: 2,788
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
I have the att m8 which I converted fully to gpe...can't go back to sense till ruu's become available later if I wanted to...anyway the reason international Roms work is because the att version is pretty much the same hardware as international/gpe... Any ROM from the international side will work... Before I did the ruu gpe conversion...I ran viper arhd insert coin virtuous renovate on my att m8 with no issues.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Current Devices:

One Plus One Sandstone Black 64GB
LG G3 D851 SIM Unlocked (ATT) 32GB
HTC One M8 32GB Gunmetal Grey
LG G-Pad 8.3 GPE
Google Nexus 7 16 GB (2013)

Google Chromecast

Add me to your Google+ Circle: https://plus.google.com/106721746210047548500/posts
 
ceo.mtcl
Old
#3  
ceo.mtcl's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 410
Posts: 2,125
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Ok, I really want to try a few roms from international section. Is there any rom that I have to avoid?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Current Phones:
๑۩۞۩๑ LG G2 AT&T ๑۩۞۩๑

Benefits of International Samsung Galaxy S3 for US (AT&T) users
 
duvall87
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Birmingham
As you are s-off, could you not update your cid and firmware? Then you are free to flash any rom.

I'm not really clued up on carrier branded phones through so I could be mistaken.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
ceo.mtcl
Old
#5  
ceo.mtcl's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 410
Posts: 2,125
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by duvall87 View Post
As you are s-off, could you not update your cid and firmware? Then you are free to flash any rom.

I'm not really clued up on carrier branded phones through so I could be mistaken.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I was wondering if modem or any driver component meant for specific version of hardware is included in Rom, and I flash it over to AT&T version, then will it not be a problem? But I think it really not is an issue.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Current Phones:
๑۩۞۩๑ LG G2 AT&T ๑۩۞۩๑

Benefits of International Samsung Galaxy S3 for US (AT&T) users
 
djkinetic
Old
#6  
djkinetic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,025
Posts: 2,788
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
CID/MID has nothing to do with roms, the only time this comes into play is if you are trying to OTA or RUU back to stock, RUU and OTA check the CID/MID and determine whether or not the model is compatible with that particular OTA/RUU... As for modems, generally roms do not include radios/basebands, most roms are just system/boot, if a radio is included it is more then likely stated in the Devs OP, also with S-Off its easy enough to fix radio issues should you run into this. As I said the ATT variant is based off the international and gpe variant hence any rom will work.
Current Devices:

One Plus One Sandstone Black 64GB
LG G3 D851 SIM Unlocked (ATT) 32GB
HTC One M8 32GB Gunmetal Grey
LG G-Pad 8.3 GPE
Google Nexus 7 16 GB (2013)

Google Chromecast

Add me to your Google+ Circle: https://plus.google.com/106721746210047548500/posts
 
an0ther
Old
#7  
an0ther's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 171
Posts: 563
Join Date: Sep 2013
You don't need to update the firmware. You can flash any gsm Rom. They pretty much all have the att apn but if not just manually input it.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes