TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more
Post Reply

Help! Hard Brick?

OP hiddenfive

9th April 2014, 11:00 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 7
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Hello all,
I just flashed CloudyFa's cloudstock rom with the patched kernel and it booted up.
No radio.
So I go on forum and Micromod777 posted a baseband which should work on it and I do a full wipe, flash cloudy's rom, the kernel and then the baseband
Rebooted and black screen of death.
Just a vibration to confirm that it is booted up
Am I screwed?
Last edited by hiddenfive; 9th April 2014 at 11:24 PM.
10th April 2014, 12:09 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 7
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Any possible solutions?
10th April 2014, 03:57 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag Redondo Beach
Thanks Meter: 2
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiddenfive

Any possible solutions?

Try plugging it into linux and seeing if it'll recognize it? If you don't have adb or downloader mode you're probably screwed...
10th April 2014, 09:27 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 7
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOriginalKyle

Try plugging it into linux and seeing if it'll recognize it? If you don't have adb or downloader mode you're probably screwed...

Would virtual box work?
10th April 2014, 11:35 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Redondo Beach
Thanks Meter: 2
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiddenfive

Would virtual box work?

I don't see why not but if you don't even see the LG logo it's probably hard bricked.
10th April 2014, 11:42 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 7
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOriginalKyle

I don't see why not but if you don't even see the LG logo it's probably hard bricked.

It is.
Right now it is a brick. I am getting a replacement soon.
But do you know if there are any JTAG/ JIG methods available?
11th April 2014, 12:12 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Redondo Beach
Thanks Meter: 2
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiddenfive

It is.
Right now it is a brick. I am getting a replacement soon.
But do you know if there are any JTAG/ JIG methods available?

I haven't seen any you could try searching the forums for it, I got hard bricked by freegee a while back so I hope all goes well
11th April 2014, 12:36 AM   |  #8  
Ploxorz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
These phones usually don't brick too easily. If you can get into download mode then you probably aren't bricked.

Maybe try this:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2471370

In the future don't mess with the baseband if you don't know what your doing.

Edit:
If you can't get download mode. There is still a chance but you must use linux.

This guide is for a D8XX so DO NOT USE ANY OF THE FILES LISTED THERE:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2582142

These should be the files for the VS980 12B, that I quickly just found in the same directory:
http://downloads.codefi.re/autoprime...12B_Partitions

In theory it should work, but I have not tested it. Use this at your own risk as a last resort!
Last edited by Ploxorz; 11th April 2014 at 01:09 AM.
11th April 2014, 03:41 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Here's the post where I saved my vs980 from a brick. Couldn't get to system, recovery, or download. It's likely the same guide Ploxorz just linked.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank