Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] A bunch of questions regarding stripped FTF, setting backups, multicore tools

OP AyaNeko

10th April 2014, 10:57 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Hi, i rooted my Z1 on Monday and a few questions pop up, so what did i do:
i had 4.4.2, so i downgraded, then rooted, then installed dualrecovery, then using CWM i flashed [Nut]'s .681 FTF and saw i got superSU and stuff, checked for root and i seem to have root. phone seems to be working fine.

Q1: What is the stripped FTF for? i flashed the corresponding stripped FTF later, also from [Nut], but it kinda broke things, and i started to experience strange things like vibration&sound gone, gyroscope not working, etc. so i flashed [Nut]'s .681 back but without the stripped FTF - works fine this way and i got root. In my research i found that the stripped FTF supposedly only contains a kernel. is that true? what is different in that kernel? do i need it or can i keep the kernel that comes with the .681 ROM?

Q2: Today i found out a new version came out the .757. i purchased Titanium backup, and made backups of my third party apps and data. i also made a TWRP backup, and i am considering flashing the new .757 ROM. But i would like to know if there is a way to save my email settings, i mean not the emails or sms itself, don't care about that, but the email accounts and its settings like pop, smtp, email, exchange email, etc
because everytime i flash a new rom on my z1, i need to setup like 6 email accounts and its getting annoying. so Q2 is: is there a good way to backup those?

Q3: do i need a stripped .757 ftf?

Q4: for third party apps to have write access to my sd card, i had to install a fix for the permission.xml in .681 because google supposedly changed the required permissions, do i have to fix it in .757 too? if yes, can i use the same installer? afaik it's just adding a few lines in permission.xml, then setting the proper owner(root root) and attributes (644 was it?), so theoretically if all that installer does is replace that one file it should work right?

Q5: i purchased setCPU Pro to find out it can't set the governor and frequencies on the other cores, just on the first one. so i tried a few others and use "Multicore CPU Control Free" now, it says the free version only lets me set stuff on the first core, but it seems like i can also set the other cores and also the settings seem to work. so i am kinda satisfied, but is there a better one?

Thanks for reading and answering in advance! i am quite new to this rooting and unlocking and flashing thing....:
10th April 2014, 11:32 PM   |  #2  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,533
 
9,994 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
You need to follow the instructions in the OP of the rom.

You have not done that, that's why you are hitting problems.

Flash the .zip and then WITHOUT REBOOTING the phone flash the stripped FTF, and yes, you do need it
11th April 2014, 12:02 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
oh, i see, yes i did indeed boot into the rom before flashing the stripped FTF. still without the stripped FTF it seems to work fine, i have root and can run all apps requiring root.

So what exactly is the stripped FTF for?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

You need to follow the instructions in the OP of the rom.

You have not done that, that's why you are hitting problems.

Flash the .zip and then WITHOUT REBOOTING the phone flash the stripped FTF, and yes, you do need it

11th April 2014, 12:11 AM   |  #4  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,533
 
9,994 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AyaNeko

oh, i see, yes i did indeed boot into the rom before flashing the stripped FTF. still without the stripped FTF it seems to work fine, i have root and can run all apps requiring root.

So what exactly is the stripped FTF for?

Basicaly it installs the correct kernel without flashing user data, apps or system

The kernel has probably not changed between 681 and 757 so it will probably work without flashing that if you are coming from 681.
The Following User Says Thank You to gregbradley For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2014, 12:55 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
i see, thanks, so is there a way to keep all my settings and flash to newest version .757?
11th April 2014, 01:00 PM   |  #6  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,533
 
9,994 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AyaNeko

i see, thanks, so is there a way to keep all my settings and flash to newest version .757?

yes. if you are on 681 now just follow the instructions in the OP
11th April 2014, 01:28 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Smile
wow i just flashed .757 and really didn't lose my data. i thought when i flash a another Rom it always deletes everything? Thanks!

this time i also understood correctly that after flashing 757 i had to turn off and immediatly flash the ftf. looks like no problem so far. Thanks for explaining that too!
11th April 2014, 01:37 PM   |  #8  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,533
 
9,994 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AyaNeko

wow i just flashed .757 and really didn't lose my data. i thought when i flash a another Rom it always deletes everything? Thanks!

this time i also understood correctly that after flashing 757 i had to turn off and immediatly flash the ftf. looks like no problem so far. Thanks for explaining that too!

No need to thank me, its all explained in the instructions on the OP of the ROM thread...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes