Post Reply

HTC One (M8) Assistance

OP Crantzenberg

9th April 2014, 03:24 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Hi guys, I'm long time reader first time poster. I usually like to blaze my own trails, but I think it's time I got some help. I have a HTC One (M7), it is or was rooted. running android 4.3. It's an O2 Ireland phone. Any other details you need quiz me!

The problem I am having is that I have wiped the OS off the phone (foolishly) while playing around TWRP. I have been trying to sideload a stock ROM (4.4.2 stock T-Mobile) onto my device in attempt to save the day, alas could not.

I won't try to pretend like I know what I'm doing, infact I know very little about android... So.

Could some kind individual please step me through what I need to do before I do more damage? Thanks in advance!
Last edited by Crantzenberg; 9th April 2014 at 03:30 PM. Reason: Inaccurate post (Mistake)
9th April 2014, 04:50 PM   |  #2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 921
 
3,132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crantzenberg

Hi guys, I'm long time reader first time poster. I usually like to blaze my own trails, but I think it's time I got some help. I have a HTC One (M7), it is or was rooted. running android 4.3. It's an O2 Ireland phone. Any other details you need quiz me!
....

If you don't care about loosing your data, flash an RUU which will re-install your OS, but wipe everything else. Your title says M8, but your post says M7. If you have an M8, just use an sdcard to put the tmobile rom zip on and flash it using twrp. If you have an M7, that isn't an option.

Just search around for instructions and downloads for the RUU files.
The Following User Says Thank You to aooga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th April 2014, 05:04 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

If you don't care about loosing your data, flash an RUU which will re-install your OS, but wipe everything else. Your title says M8, but your post says M7. If you have an M8, just use an sdcard to put the tmobile rom zip on and flash it using twrp. If you have an M7, that isn't an option.

Just search around for instructions and downloads for the RUU files.

Yes, sorry for the confusion. I have an M7. That is why this is sort of above my skill level. Backups never bother me. As for RUUs? Does it have to be an O2 RUU for my O2 phone or can it just be an RUU of another network? I'm finding it hard to get my hands on the particular one I need. The Kind user who hosts the RUUs, Sirkrushalot... I think, well his site isn't working so well for me. Thank you for your swift reply. At this moment I have no mobile phone now. And in this day and age it feels like a part of me is missing haha.
9th April 2014, 05:10 PM   |  #4  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 921
 
3,132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crantzenberg

Yes, sorry for the confusion. I have an M7. That is why this is sort of above my skill level. Backups never bother me. As for RUUs? Does it have to be an O2 RUU for my O2 phone or can it just be an RUU of another network? I'm finding it hard to get my hands on the particular one I need. The Kind user who hosts the RUUs, Sirkrushalot... I think, well his site isn't working so well for me. Thank you for your swift reply. At this moment I have no mobile phone now. And in this day and age it feels like a part of me is missing haha.

Yeah you do need to flash the RUU that has the same CID (carrier) as your phone. This works if you're on O2.
http://androidruu.com/getdownload.ph...3_signed_2.exe
The Following User Says Thank You to aooga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th April 2014, 05:41 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Wow! Thanks a million. Couldn't have been more helpful. Your the best! Lets hope this goes without a hitch...
9th April 2014, 11:05 PM   |  #6  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 921
 
3,132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
@Crantzenberg Well, did it work?
The Following User Says Thank You to aooga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th April 2014, 07:15 AM   |  #7  
NxNW's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 517
 
1,427 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
To edit your thread title, use the "advanced" button while editing your first post..

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to NxNW For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th April 2014, 03:06 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

@Crantzenberg Well, did it work?

Yap, got it breathing again. Praise the sun that I back up to google drive everyday with avast and HTC Backup! Got 127 contacts back
Many thanks, problem solved. I consider this matter closed now I guess. You're the best aaooga!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NxNW

To edit your thread title, use the "advanced" button while editing your first post..

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app


Alright, thanks I'll keep that in mind next time.
The Following User Says Thank You to Crantzenberg For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th April 2014, 06:35 PM   |  #9  
NxNW's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 517
 
1,427 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crantzenberg

Quote:

Click "Go Advanced"

Alright, thanks I'll keep that in mind next time.

Next time? You could try it now...
12th April 2014, 01:02 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by NxNW

Next time? You could try it now...

Have you got OCD Bubba? My heart weeps. Goodbye!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes