Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,209 Members 37,225 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Reset S5 help

Tip us?
 
Sherro
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default [Q] Reset S5 help

Hey all,

So I got a new S5 today upgrading from a 3.

Everything was all good, rooted, downloaded titanium backup and I believe accidentally restored something from my old s3. Anyway, after a reboot. the phone starts into touchwiz for a few seconds then reboots mentioning acore has crashed.

I have tried flashing CWM but it does not seem to go into its recovery, instead staying in the stock download mode.

ANY help would be much appreciated, I've downloaded the stock UK O2 firmware from sammobile but i'm lost on what to do next/
 
idtheftvictim
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 126
Posts: 583
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherro View Post
Hey all,

So I got a new S5 today upgrading from a 3.

Everything was all good, rooted, downloaded titanium backup and I believe accidentally restored something from my old s3. Anyway, after a reboot. the phone starts into touchwiz for a few seconds then reboots mentioning acore has crashed.

I have tried flashing CWM but it does not seem to go into its recovery, instead staying in the stock download mode.

ANY help would be much appreciated, I've downloaded the stock UK O2 firmware from sammobile but i'm lost on what to do next/
Couple of options:

1. You can use your recovery (CWM or Stock) to wipe Data (factory reset). That will start you off as if you just got the phone again.

2. You can ODIN the stock firmware you downloaded. Load up Odin, put the file in the AP spot, and click start. DO NOT UNPLUG THE PHONE UNTIL IT IS FINISHED
 
Sherro
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by idtheftvictim View Post
Couple of options:

1. You can use your recovery (CWM or Stock) to wipe Data (factory reset). That will start you off as if you just got the phone again.

2. You can ODIN the stock firmware you downloaded. Load up Odin, put the file in the AP spot, and click start. DO NOT UNPLUG THE PHONE UNTIL IT IS FINISHED
Okay so if i boot into stock recovery, how do I factory reset?

Also what AP spot in Odin? I usually use PDA for the stock firmware.
 
Sherro
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2014
Alright so I figured out I can flash TWRP if I flash that but I cant boot into CWM if I flash that,

In TWRP I have factory reset.

If I now try and flash the stock firmware it automatically auth fails.. :9
 
idtheftvictim
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 126
Posts: 583
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherro View Post
Alright so I figured out I can flash TWRP if I flash that but I cant boot into CWM if I flash that,

In TWRP I have factory reset.

If I now try and flash the stock firmware it automatically auth fails.. :9
Do a factory reset in TWRP then...
 
Sherro
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default **** 2654342

I have but now if I try and start it normally it just hangs on the galaxy S5 screen.

If I try and flash the stock firmware from sammobile using odin as an administrator it fails with (auth)
 
Sherro
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2014
Okay so I'm actually lost.. No matter what I do in Odin I just get <ID:0/006> FAIL! (Auth)

If I try and install the OS using TWRP I get:
updating partition details...
E: Unable to mount '/usbstorage'
 
Sherro
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2014
I've now got PhilZ touch on there.

Wiped data/factory reset, try to install zip from SD card and it just goes:

Installing update...
Installation aborted.
 
Sherro
Old
(Last edited by Sherro; 12th April 2014 at 05:01 AM.)
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2014
Okay so I can flash any recovery I want with ease. Just can't seem to install any firmware from sammobile :/

So completely confused.

In Odin I get this:
<ID:0/004> aboot.mbn
<ID:0/004> NAND Write Start!!
<ID:0/004> FAIL! (Auth)

and in download mode it says:
SECURE CHECK FAIL: aboot

Should I wait for a pit file and try that?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Increase Your Multitasking Workflow with C-Floating Windows

Technology has put life on the fast track. Lazy, relaxed days have turned into … more

Compile Your Own Kernel From Source with Comprehensive Tutorial

One glance at any developer section of any device forum on XDA and youll find … more

WowWee Mip – Android Accessory Review – XDA Developer TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about … more

Stream Your Media Files with the New Version of Droid Sync Manager

Android is a Linux-based operating system, but this fact doesn’t put … more