ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Android Studio Reaches Release Candidate Status

Android app developers have a few options when comes to Android IDEs. One of the most … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Reset S5 help

OP Sherro

11th April 2014, 01:31 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Hey all,

So I got a new S5 today upgrading from a 3.

Everything was all good, rooted, downloaded titanium backup and I believe accidentally restored something from my old s3. Anyway, after a reboot. the phone starts into touchwiz for a few seconds then reboots mentioning acore has crashed.

I have tried flashing CWM but it does not seem to go into its recovery, instead staying in the stock download mode.

ANY help would be much appreciated, I've downloaded the stock UK O2 firmware from sammobile but i'm lost on what to do next/
11th April 2014, 02:39 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 132
 
592 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherro

Hey all,

So I got a new S5 today upgrading from a 3.

Everything was all good, rooted, downloaded titanium backup and I believe accidentally restored something from my old s3. Anyway, after a reboot. the phone starts into touchwiz for a few seconds then reboots mentioning acore has crashed.

I have tried flashing CWM but it does not seem to go into its recovery, instead staying in the stock download mode.

ANY help would be much appreciated, I've downloaded the stock UK O2 firmware from sammobile but i'm lost on what to do next/

Couple of options:

1. You can use your recovery (CWM or Stock) to wipe Data (factory reset). That will start you off as if you just got the phone again.

2. You can ODIN the stock firmware you downloaded. Load up Odin, put the file in the AP spot, and click start. DO NOT UNPLUG THE PHONE UNTIL IT IS FINISHED
11th April 2014, 02:47 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by idtheftvictim

Couple of options:

1. You can use your recovery (CWM or Stock) to wipe Data (factory reset). That will start you off as if you just got the phone again.

2. You can ODIN the stock firmware you downloaded. Load up Odin, put the file in the AP spot, and click start. DO NOT UNPLUG THE PHONE UNTIL IT IS FINISHED

Okay so if i boot into stock recovery, how do I factory reset?

Also what AP spot in Odin? I usually use PDA for the stock firmware.
11th April 2014, 04:17 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Alright so I figured out I can flash TWRP if I flash that but I cant boot into CWM if I flash that,

In TWRP I have factory reset.

If I now try and flash the stock firmware it automatically auth fails.. :9
11th April 2014, 04:43 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 132
 
592 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherro

Alright so I figured out I can flash TWRP if I flash that but I cant boot into CWM if I flash that,

In TWRP I have factory reset.

If I now try and flash the stock firmware it automatically auth fails.. :9

Do a factory reset in TWRP then...
11th April 2014, 04:50 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
**** 2654342
I have but now if I try and start it normally it just hangs on the galaxy S5 screen.

If I try and flash the stock firmware from sammobile using odin as an administrator it fails with (auth)
12th April 2014, 12:40 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Okay so I'm actually lost.. No matter what I do in Odin I just get <ID:0/006> FAIL! (Auth)

If I try and install the OS using TWRP I get:
updating partition details...
E: Unable to mount '/usbstorage'
12th April 2014, 01:24 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
I've now got PhilZ touch on there.

Wiped data/factory reset, try to install zip from SD card and it just goes:

Installing update...
Installation aborted.
12th April 2014, 05:44 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Okay so I can flash any recovery I want with ease. Just can't seem to install any firmware from sammobile :/

So completely confused.

In Odin I get this:
<ID:0/004> aboot.mbn
<ID:0/004> NAND Write Start!!
<ID:0/004> FAIL! (Auth)

and in download mode it says:
SECURE CHECK FAIL: aboot

Should I wait for a pit file and try that?
Last edited by Sherro; 12th April 2014 at 06:01 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes