Post Reply

Google Voice Issues

OP WizeGuyDezignz

12th April 2014, 04:37 PM   |  #1  
WizeGuyDezignz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 1,070
 
2,773 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Hey Guys,

Has anyone managed to get Google Voice to work on the S5? On every other phone that I've had, and it's been a lot in the last year, I always just install the app, run through configuration and it's fine. On the S5, I simply can't get it to work.

I only use Google Voice for my voicemails. I don't make or receive calls with my Google Voice number. Every time I run through the setup it gives me an error and then says if I want to change providers or something like that. If I hit yes, it fails. If I hit no, my Google Voice voicemail doesn't work.

Any ideas? I went to the Google Voice website and deleted my phone and added it again with no success. What is going wrong?

Thanks!
12th April 2014, 05:07 PM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 2
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WizeGuyDezignz

Hey Guys,

Has anyone managed to get Google Voice to work on the S5? On every other phone that I've had, and it's been a lot in the last year, I always just install the app, run through configuration and it's fine. On the S5, I simply can't get it to work.

I only use Google Voice for my voicemails. I don't make or receive calls with my Google Voice number. Every time I run through the setup it gives me an error and then says if I want to change providers or something like that. If I hit yes, it fails. If I hit no, my Google Voice voicemail doesn't work.

Any ideas? I went to the Google Voice website and deleted my phone and added it again with no success. What is going wrong?

Thanks!

you probably need to re-forward VM to GV. My S5 kept giving me an error when I tired to do it via the app, so I manually forwarded to my GV# via..

*004*xxx-xxx-xxxx# (where xxx-xxx-xxxx is your Google Voice phone number) then Press Call

PS: I'm not certain if you need to, but I set up my AT&T voicemail before I forwarded to GV,
The Following User Says Thank You to osetivo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th April 2014, 05:15 PM   |  #3  
karmuh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orange County, NY
Thanks Meter: 76
 
198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
I guess I got lucky -- I ran through the GV setup via the app and it worked perfectly the first time. I kept having issues when trying to set it up on my mothers S4...had to eventually reboot her phone and change it manually in settings. For my S5, it worked fine the first run through.

I also set up AT&T visual voicemail before GV. I did this just to double-check if my old voicemails were still there.
Last edited by karmuh; 12th April 2014 at 05:29 PM.
12th April 2014, 07:11 PM   |  #4  
WizeGuyDezignz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 1,070
 
2,773 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by osetivo

you probably need to re-forward VM to GV. My S5 kept giving me an error when I tired to do it via the app, so I manually forwarded to my GV# via..

*004*xxx-xxx-xxxx# (where xxx-xxx-xxxx is your Google Voice phone number) then Press Call

PS: I'm not certain if you need to, but I set up my AT&T voicemail before I forwarded to GV,

That worked like a charm, thank you!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy S5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank