Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,124 Members 42,710 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Why is the menu button the task manager button?

Tip us?
 
slickdealers
Old
#1  
slickdealers's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 92
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default [Q] Why is the menu button the task manager button?

The button to the left of the physical button on the phone. (I'm not 100% it is called the menu button, but that is what I am going to refer it as.)

I just upgraded from the GS3 and am a bit frustrated. The button now goes to the task manager. I have to press and hold to get the menu appear. I hate this! Does anyone know of a way to get it back to normal?
 
lballer69
Old
#2  
lballer69's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 596
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: baltimore
It is now the recent apps button.

Sent from my SM-G900P using xda premium
 
dpwhitty11
Old
#3  
dpwhitty11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 214
Posts: 1,589
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston/Waco

 
DONATE TO ME
That's how Android buttons are supposed to be.... Recent apps, home, back, in that order.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
Sprint Galaxy S5 SM-G900P
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1
 
slickdealers
Old
#4  
slickdealers's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 92
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lballer69 View Post
It is now the recent apps button.

Sent from my SM-G900P using xda premium
I know it has only been a day, but have you heard of a way to change the function?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpwhitty11 View Post
That's how Android buttons are supposed to be.... Recent apps, home, back, in that order.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
I swear it wasn't like this on the Galaxy S3
 
lballer69
Old
#5  
lballer69's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 596
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: baltimore
It wasn't like this on the gs4 either ....give it a few days for some of the apps to be updated for the s5.

Sent from my SM-G900P using xda premium
 
pdelacr2
Old
#6  
pdelacr2's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 76
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston
You can press and hold on the task button and it will trigger the menu.
 
eyecon82
Old
#7  
eyecon82's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1648
Posts: 2,235
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by slickdealers View Post
I know it has only been a day, but have you heard of a way to change the function?



I swear it wasn't like this on the Galaxy S3
It wasn't like that on the s2, s3, or s4

To be honest, I prefer the new layout on the s5. It was a pain having to hold the home button to get to recent app before

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
 
JGillis2391
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 147
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort Myers

 
DONATE TO ME
I was super happy when I saw the option to long-press recent apps for the menu key. Hopefully later on we get to remap the key to menu in ROMs like CM but if not I'm fine with it. I do wish it were still the menu key by default, though.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Port Sony Xperia Themes to CyanogenMod 11 with Ease

In addition the obvious proficiency with graphics, creating agood Android theme … more

Cell Phone SIM Unlock Bill Just Steps Away from President’s Desk

For all those who believe that Cinderella stories don’t actually … more

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more