Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,783,010 Members 44,650 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] ruu installation fails

Tip us?
 
avcoolkarni
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Pune
Default [Q] ruu installation fails

Hi,
I currently have custom recovery and root. I want to get my phone back to stock. I have locked my phone again, made S OFF. Downloaded ruu from htcdev site. 4.20.707.7 ruu for htc asia wwe.
when I flashed ruu it gave me below error.
Can somebody help me what is problem here?

sending 'zip' (103082 KB)...
OKAY [ 7.735s]
writing 'zip'...
(bootloader) zip header checking...
(bootloader) zip info parsing...
(bootloader) Read zipped android_info fail
FAILED (remote: 24 parsing android-info fail)
finished. total time: 8.010s
 
nkk71
Old
#2  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,832
Posts: 5,726
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by avcoolkarni View Post
Hi,
I currently have custom recovery and root. I want to get my phone back to stock. I have locked my phone again, made S OFF. Downloaded ruu from htcdev site. 4.20.707.7 ruu for htc asia wwe.
when I flashed ruu it gave me below error.
Can somebody help me what is problem here?

sending 'zip' (103082 KB)...
OKAY [ 7.735s]
writing 'zip'...
(bootloader) zip header checking...
(bootloader) zip info parsing...
(bootloader) Read zipped android_info fail
FAILED (remote: 24 parsing android-info fail)
finished. total time: 8.010s
mate, there is no such thing as a 100MB ruu.zip, those are kernel source codes. M7 (at lease Sense edition) RUU's are 1GB or so.

get ruu's from: http://www.htc1guru.com/ or http://www.androidruu.com/?developer=M7

PS: and the filename starts with RUU.... OTA are not ruu's either, they are "Over The Air" updates
 
aooga
Old
#3  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 861
Posts: 2,915
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
I would suggest downloading this and updating it OTA to the latest version.

http://androidruu.com/getdownload.ph...678_signed.exe

You're not downloading an RUU or your download didn't finish if it's only 100mb. Most are around 1gb.
 
avcoolkarni
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Pune
Thanks for the clarification. I had doubts about it but wanted to confirm so posted. Basically for my phone ruu is not available to htc1guru site yet. Also I just installed custom recovery and not ROM so I thought 100mb size will contain at-least recovery but without looking into content I ran it.
 
nkk71
Old
#5  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,832
Posts: 5,726
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by avcoolkarni View Post
Thanks for the clarification. I had doubts about it but wanted to confirm so posted. Basically for my phone ruu is not available to htc1guru site yet. Also I just installed custom recovery and not ROM so I thought 100mb size will contain at-least recovery but without looking into content I ran it.
since you're S-Off, depending on your MID, you can use

http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/ruu-zip-...78_signed-zip/
Code:
modelid: PN0710000
modelid: PN0714000
cidnum: HTC__044
mainver: 1.29.707.3
or

http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/ruu-zip-...decrypted-zip/
Code:
modelid: PN0711000
cidnum: HTC__044
cidnum: HTC__038
mainver: 1.29.707.4
to downgrade, and then take all the OTA updates back to 4.x (and later when available).
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
avcoolkarni
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Pune
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga View Post
I would suggest downloading this and updating it OTA to the latest version.

You're not downloading an RUU or your download didn't finish if it's only 100mb. Most are around 1gb.
I didn't thought about this. I will try this.
 
avcoolkarni
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Pune
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
since you're S-Off, depending on your MID, you can use

Code:
modelid: PN0710000
modelid: PN0714000
cidnum: HTC__044
mainver: 1.29.707.3
or

01_release_312087_signed_2_4_decrypted-zip/[/url]
Code:
modelid: PN0711000
cidnum: HTC__044
cidnum: HTC__038
mainver: 1.29.707.4
to downgrade, and then take all the OTA updates back to 4.x (and later when available).
My cidnum is HTC__038. I will try downgrading it.

Just one more question. I haven't changed my ROM yet, just installed custom recovery. So If I install only stock recovery will my phone go back to complete ROM?
 
nkk71
Old
#8  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,832
Posts: 5,726
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by avcoolkarni View Post
My cidnum is HTC__038. I will try downgrading it.
make sure MID is correct too, just to be sure.

and check MD5 on the download to make sure it's not a bad download!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by avcoolkarni View Post
Just one more question. I haven't changed my ROM yet, just installed custom recovery. So If I install only stock recovery will my phone go back to complete ROM?
That's a so-so question because when you unlocked using HTCdev, you will have lost the /data/preload apps (eg Calculator, Flashlight, RingtoneTrimmer, and some others).
 
avcoolkarni
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Pune
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
make sure MID is correct too, just to be sure.

and check MD5 on the download to make sure it's not a bad download!!



That's a so-so question because when you unlocked using HTCdev, you will have lost the /data/preload apps (eg Calculator, Flashlight, RingtoneTrimmer, and some others).
Thanks. I thought custom recovery will erase these apps.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes