FORUMS

XPrivacy for Android Lollipop – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Have you ever been on the Google Play Store and saw an app that you wanted to … more

How a HTC Droid Eris Changed a Members Life

Rarely can a member say that Android development or XDA had a profound effect on … more

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more

Which IM Client on Android is best?

With so many different messengers to choose from, it can be tough to find the best one for you and … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Installing new ROM

12th April 2014, 12:30 PM |#1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I want to install sense 6 .. and I will make backup before trying to.. but my question is if I restore my backup I can install official update again?? because I want the official sense 6 but can't wait :P also if I restore the backup all applications and home page shortcut will be there or I will loose them all ??
 
 
12th April 2014, 01:11 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
yes you can restore from backup. it will come on with everything you had on there at the time of backup.

to receive ota, wipe system, restore backup, and flash stock recovery. also lock bootloader via scotty123's method.

some people reporting ota working fine without locking bootloader. but stock recovery must be there for it to work
The Following User Says Thank You to japodude For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th April 2014, 05:36 PM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by japodude

yes you can restore from backup. it will come on with everything you had on there at the time of backup.

to receive ota, wipe system, restore backup, and flash stock recovery. also lock bootloader via scotty123's method.

some people reporting ota working fine without locking bootloader. but stock recovery must be there for it to work

from where do I get stock recovery for the international htc one max??
12th April 2014, 06:43 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thetiger_jad007

from where do I get stock recovery for the international htc one max??

look in one max forum for post twrp recovery 2.7.0.0. its in there for download

pm me if you can't find i will upload. but it's real easy to find
The Following User Says Thank You to japodude For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th April 2014, 07:17 PM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by japodude

look in one max forum for post twrp recovery 2.7.0.0. its in there for download

pm me if you can't find i will upload. but it's real easy to find

thx I found one ..
Another question to install custom rom do I need to s-off my phone I can't remeber that I s-off my old phones to install custom rom :S
12th April 2014, 07:43 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
i didnt soff to install virtuous 2.0.2.

i soff'd before i took the 4.4 ota.
The Following User Says Thank You to japodude For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th April 2014, 07:55 PM |#7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by japodude

i didnt soff to install virtuous 2.0.2.

i soff'd before i took the 4.4 ota.

Aha.. is there any way to unlock bootloader without htc dev and I think yes but what is the difference between them. And just to be clear to install custom rom I have to unlock bootloader then root then installing CWM and then flash the rom .. Root and CWM does not affect my data so I can backup them..

And thank you so much
12th April 2014, 10:22 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
unlock without htc dev only possible with soff. so no on stock phone.

not gonna explain soff and unlock, read forums. explained there

to install rom, just unlock bootloader.install recovery of your choice thats it. the rom you install will probably be rooted anyway!
13th April 2014, 08:44 PM |#9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by japodude

unlock without htc dev only possible with soff. so no on stock phone.

not gonna explain soff and unlock, read forums. explained there

to install rom, just unlock bootloader.install recovery of your choice thats it. the rom you install will probably be rooted anyway!

thx I did it and I installed new rom
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes