Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,884 Members 52,613 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Impossible to debrand (Unlock) my Z1?

Tip us?
 
TimPonken
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 94
Join Date: Oct 2010
Exclamation [Q] Impossible to debrand (Unlock) my Z1?

Hello!

I have a Sony Xperia Z1 C9603
Currently running
757 by [NUT] ( I followed this guide he have in Z1 General section )

I'm currently locked to the carrier "3 (Three)" and i wish to have it SIM-Unlocked so i can use my other SIM-Card i have,
Is this possible?

Because no matter what FTF i choose the phone is still branded and when i start the phone it keep asking me for "PIN-Code To Unlock Network"
So right now i don't have any connection at all on the phone.

Could someone please help me?
 
gregbradley
Old
#2  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3,918
Posts: 9,249
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Sim lock has nothing to do with which firmware you are running.

You must either speak to your network provider or pay someone in a mobile phone shop to get it sim free

How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4

If you are unsure, then read this.
If you are still unsure, watch this.
 

My contributions.
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. Sir Isaac Newton

[X10] | [NEO] | [Xperia T/TX] |
[Xperia Z1]
You are free to share my work, but please provide the correct credits and a link to my original thread.


 
Jay794
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 227
Join Date: Nov 2012
Unlocking the bootloader should allow sim unlock

Sent from my C6903 using xda app-developers app
 
XperienceD
Old
#4  
XperienceD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,391
Posts: 7,282
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Here =)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay794 View Post
Unlocking the bootloader should allow sim unlock
The only way is to pay for a code, either from your carrier or 3rd party site. Any O2 contract owners can do it for free though.
 
Jay794
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 227
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by XperienceD View Post
The only way is to pay for a code, either from your carrier or 3rd party site. Any O2 contract owners can do it for free though.
Might be on the Z1, but I've unlocked boot loaders on a lot of HTC's and that has resulted In a sim unlock
 
XperienceD
Old
#6  
XperienceD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,391
Posts: 7,282
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Here =)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay794 View Post
but I've unlocked boot loaders on a lot of HTC's and that has resulted In a sim unlock
Not on Sonys, which I've owned a few of. You need a code.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA Xposed Tuesday: DonkeyGuard, Don’t Be a Donkey, Control Your Device – XDA Developer TV

Some applications ask for the world … more

Use Facebook Pictures as a LWP with Facebook View

One of the best things that Android has always offeredits users is the ability to tailor … more

Share Your Thoughts Anonymously with A Minimalist Social Network

Nowadays, almost everyone has a second life onthe Internet. Among the best … more

Enable Heads Up Notifications For The Sprint Galaxy S3

Heads up notifications, in case you didn’t already know, are an experimental … more