Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,793 Members 41,461 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q]T-Mobile phone on other carriers..

Tip us?
 
Razzzzer
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 124
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Santa Barbara
Default [Q]T-Mobile phone on other carriers..

Howdy,

Quick question... on using the T-Mobile phone on other carriers. I researched around and it "appears" that the phones are all the same internally.. I believe this phone will work on ATT without issue, how about Verizon? Just use a applicable kernel, and modem??


The reason I ask is that my work has offered to cover cell phone but they only have Verizon and ATT

Any reason to pick one over the other?? I was thinking Verizon has they have better coverage where I need it but any other concerns?

Alternately I could just get a s5 I guess... any issues with the s5 and rooting/customizing besides the Knox thing?

thanks in advance!
 
xda23
Old
#2  
xda23's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 1,190
Join Date: Sep 2013
I would go with tmobile just unlock your tmobile device.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app

---------- Post added at 11:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:53 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by xda23 View Post
I would go with tmobile just unlock your tmobile device.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app
Opps!!! I meant go with att.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app
 
Razzzzer
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 124
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Santa Barbara
Quote:
Originally Posted by davebegue View Post
My m919 works perfectly on At&t. The older boot loader (MDL) is the one I have. Not sure of the newer ones can still be switched. I always thought Verizon's radios and freqs were not compatible.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I might lean toward ATT... but my understanding is that all the s4 phones have the same hardware, the modem software determines what "bands" they use...

I see on the Verizon forums a few users have used their Verizon phone on Tmob.. so I would think the reverse would hold true...

ill research more (and maybe get some more feedback)..... don't have to decide today

I have the old baseband (no knox).
 
elcocho852
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Dec 2013
I think you can only use tmobile phones with other gsm carriers as long as its unlocked. I'm not to sure about gsm and CDMA. They are way to different.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes