Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,594 Members 53,947 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Can I take OTA update and keep root?

Tip us?
 
scottfarcuz
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Can I take OTA update and keep root?

I am running stock 4.1.2 rooted and froze SDM 1.0 with titanium backup to avoid the constant update reminders.

I am now curious can I accept the updates and keep root somehow?

Is something like OTA root keeper worthwhile?
 
dpeeps74
Old
#2  
dpeeps74's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 173
Posts: 859
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Austin
You can still root but cannot unlock the bootloader. I'd recommend reading the 4.3 sticky thread before taking the ota even if you want to stay stock.

Sent from my d2lte using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to dpeeps74 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
scottfarcuz
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpeeps74 View Post
You can still root but cannot unlock the bootloader. I'd recommend reading the 4.3 sticky thread before taking the ota even if you want to stay stock.

Sent from my d2lte using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Are you saying that because of the 4.3 issues?

I would rather not mess with the phone but I just got a gear 2 neo and it will not connect. I think this is because of the older android version. The specs on the gear software say it requires 4.2 or higher
 
BadUsername
Old
#4  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 639
Posts: 1,304
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottfarcuz View Post
Are you saying that because of the 4.3 issues?

I would rather not mess with the phone but I just got a gear 2 neo and it will not connect. I think this is because of the older android version. The specs on the gear software say it requires 4.2 or higher
Ya you need 4.3.

So you have options, since you're have a galaxy gear you're probably going to be running stock TouchWiz, so I would just take the upgrade.

You can root later, but the gear would never work with aosp anyway. Safestrap can make your phone run pretty well with a TouchWiz custom rom if you eventually decide you want one.

Or you can load a custom TouchWiz 4.3 rom right now and see if it connects, then you wouldn't lock your phone down permanently.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to BadUsername For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
scottfarcuz
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2011
Id like to go with a custom rom but don't have a clue what I'm doing.

Thanks for the help
 
BadUsername
Old
#6  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 639
Posts: 1,304
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottfarcuz View Post
Id like to go with a custom rom but don't have a clue what I'm doing.

Thanks for the help
OK then read the sticky threads in the development section, everything there has guides available for rooting and installing roms, then ask more questions if you have them.

Make sure you're reading the older sticky thread, not the 4.3 one.



Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to BadUsername For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
scottfarcuz
Old
(Last edited by scottfarcuz; 13th April 2014 at 03:40 PM.)
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2011
I've been unable to even get the OTA to work. It downloads then fails on install.

I have reset the flash counter but thought that was all that would be required to repair/delete before running the OTA update.

Does anyone have a suggestion?

Just to clarify the phone is currently rooted (casual method) on 4.1.2. I never touched the rom or bootloader after rooting i just installed titanium backup and froze all the bloat. Id like to get the OTA even if i lose root.

I reset the flash counter with triangle away and did a batch unfreeze with titanium backup.The OTA downloads then fails on install.
 
droidxxxxx
Old
#8  
droidxxxxx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 844
Join Date: Oct 2012
You would probably need to unfreeze everything for the update to work, at least thats what I have heard.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
---Acer A-100 / Rooted / Unlocked / Sporting Green ICS by lgcmn & ZeroNull with the MicroSD 2 Internal Memory Swap---
---Acer A-500 Stock as she can be.....with a self replaced new Mother Board---
---Samsung Galaxy SIII SCH-I535 Rooted/Unlocked on Wicked Sensations v.5.0---
The Following User Says Thank You to droidxxxxx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BadUsername
Old
#9  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 639
Posts: 1,304
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottfarcuz View Post
I've been unable to even get the OTA to work. It downloads then fails on install.

I have reset the flash counter but thought that was all that would be required to repair/delete before running the OTA update.

Does anyone have a suggestion?

Just to clarify the phone is currently rooted (casual method) on 4.1.2. I never touched the rom or bootloader after rooting i just installed titanium backup and froze all the bloat. Id like to get the OTA even if i lose root.

I reset the flash counter with triangle away and did a batch unfreeze with titanium backup.The OTA downloads then fails on install.
Use this thread to Odin flash 4.3. It's the exact same as taking the Ota.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2586319

I'm sure you already know what taking the update entails, just be absolutely sure it's what you want to do before you flash it. There's no going back.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

The Following User Says Thank You to BadUsername For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes