Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,781 Members 48,616 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Default Language

Tip us?
 
Stalka
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 37
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default [Q] Default Language

When KitKit was being released for the N9005, I flashed the Polish firmware as it was the first to be released.

Now, months later, I am flashing the UK firmware. However, even though I do a thorough wipe (data/cache/dalvik), and post-flash I confirm the build number as N9005XXUENB7 as the UK version, it still defaults to Polish language on first boot.

How can I get this to reset back to UK for proper? Is it because the bootloader was upgraded to 4.4.x by the Polish firmware? Would it be safe for me to tick "Phone Bootloader Update" and reflash the UK firmware again?

Knox has already been tripped, not bothered about that.
 
Stalka
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 37
Join Date: Nov 2008
Flashing with "Phone Bootloader Update" didn't work.
 
kenny1991
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 194
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stalka View Post
Flashing with "Phone Bootloader Update" didn't work.
So changing default language in language settings doesn't work?
 
Stalka
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 37
Join Date: Nov 2008
Yes, I can change the language to English and its fine from then on. However, when I reset back to default settings, why does the phone default to Polish on first boot? This is what I want to fix.
 
Stalka
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 37
Join Date: Nov 2008
I even just did a full NAND ERASE via Odin, re-partitioned with my PIT file, and reflash ... still starts as Polish! lol I'm missing something here. I shan't sleep till I sort this.
 
celderic
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 184
Posts: 622
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stalka View Post
I even just did a full NAND ERASE via Odin, re-partitioned with my PIT file, and reflash ... still starts as Polish! lol I'm missing something here. I shan't sleep till I sort this.
Try flashing the NC2 rom by alexndr and select BTU csc in aroma installer. If you have custom recovery anyway.

Sent from my SM-N9005
 
Stalka
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 37
Join Date: Nov 2008
Ah thanks celderic, I just saw your message now. I ended up flashing the CSC to UK by using the update zip's here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...56&postcount=2

I noticed in recovery it was giving CSC as XEO, which is Poland, I guess thats where it was getting it from.

Now its BTU, and it started up as English! Finally I can go to sleep.

The Following User Says Thank You to Stalka For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
default language, english, kitkat, polish
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more

Paid Android App Developers Will Soon Have to Provide Physical Address

Google has now changed its policies regarding paid app developers. … more

Windows Developers Rejoice! Dev Program’s $99 Yearly Fee is No More!

Microsoft rule in the mobile market, much like the giant dinosaurs … more

Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more